First 2 weeks


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey mates, so I guess I will start off my blog right from the beginning. The trip over was pretty bad, it was long and uncomfy and the food wasn't up to MY standards, haha. In the vancouver airport I accidently passed through the "no return zone" when I was looking for my Gate so I had to wait 4 hours in the terminal, which was really brutal. Sydney was so nice, the opera house was pretty cool, but after seeing it once that was enough. I walked across the bridge, it is the largest single steel framed bridge in the world or something. sydney was too busy for my tastes tho, I went to Bondi beach one day, which was really cool but busy. I stayed at Original Backpackers hostel in Sydney, it was nice and friendly, a good way to start of my trip. I played football (soccer) with a bunch of guys against another hostel, boy the English are really good at footy. But after about 6 days I decided I had enough and decided to meet up with Jiggy in Byron Bay.

Byron bay reminded me a lot of Canmore in the summer, it was really nice. I got to room with Jiggy to, so that was really cool. He introduced me to a ton of people at the hostel, which I got to be really good friends with, they want me to come back. I learned to surf as well, but I can honestly say I won't be going pro anytime soon. It is harder then it looks, but I was able to get up my 3 try and jiggy was seriously impressed. maybe I am a natural and should stick with it. So I surfed a couple of days with jiggy and we played cricket with a bunch of guys down on the beach. It is an intersting but boring sport. I walked to the Byron Lighthouse one early morning which was really cool. I promise I have pictures. The wildlife is really cool in Australia to, bats spiders, but I haven't seen any kangaroos yet. Everybody says I will tho, they are all over once you get out of populated areas.

On the 5th I decided to head to Sufers Paradise for a night. the city was bigger then i thought, something like the size of saskatoon. It was nice tho. I went on a pub crawl for the night, which was really fun. I have met so many different people. A lot of English people and sweedish as well as canadians. I have met some americans, and you can easily tell who they are. its funny. I have met up with an English girl as well, and we have been kind of traveling to the same places together. She is a police officer in London, which is pretty cool. She is off to Alice Spring (middle part of australia) tho, so I wont be travelling with her anymore. I am currently in Brisbane for the night, but I am heading back to Surfers Paradise because I have a job interview with a company called Beach House Health and Fitness. The round trip is going to cost me about $40, but I just can't pass up the interview. Sorry about not having any pictures yet, I haven't been able to figure out how my camera loads pictures onto the computer. Im going to stay at Jason Whitings place on the weeked as well if im back in Brisbane, so i can sit down and take my time to learn anyways. Well, I guess I best be off for now. You can send me facebook messages as well still.

Cheers,

Love Uncle Curt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb