And then the sun came out to play


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wollongong
January 16th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Gregg and Jeff in the KombiGregg and Jeff in the KombiGregg and Jeff in the Kombi

...Campervan to you and me!
15 January 2010

Today was one of our slow days making the majority of it less than interesting to read about. Truthfully, I think that we were enjoying the homeliness of Jeff’s pad which (together with Chris’) made such a delightful change to the various low rent accommodations that we have slept in over the last five months that we felt no real need for entertainment over and above that which it provided.

Jeff lives a ten minute walk from the beach and Gregg was keen to get his board out so, sometime in the afternoon, decided to take Angus (Jeff’s dog) out for a walk in order to give him some exercise and also to check on the surf. A little later he disappeared out of the front door, board in hand, saying I have no wetsuit so I won’t be that long…eventually he returned. I know that he knows what he is doing in the water but, when he goes out without a mate, I always worry that, if he got into trouble, there would be no one to help him out.

Anyway, by the time he returned, Lydia was home from work and I had found a film set in Liverpool (The Crew) on TV that I settled down to watch. Ten minutes in, Lydia was asleep on the sofa and I found Gregg asleep on the bed (I had had a few minutes shut eye myself whilst Gregg was communing with the waves) so I persevered with the film by myself. I say persevered for a reason, it is absolutely no exaggeration to say that I have absolutely no idea what that film was about other than violence and a gang, yet I had to see the ending.

Jeff had returned by now and we all got ready to go out for our second Barbie in two days - which, obviously, impressed two Brits considerably. This time we visited Jeff’s friends, Brendan and Linda and their two children, and were treated not only to a great meat feast but also an amazing potato bake. Linda shared the recipe but I am not quite sure that I can remember it.

16 January 2010

Jeff was not working today and, after an early morning (ish) run with Angus the dog, offered to tour guide us for the day. This was fantastic not only for the ‘guide’ part of the equation but also because today was the first day that we have really seen the sun since we arrived in Australia AND because Jeff’s car is a recently renovated (I am sure that isn’t the technical term when referring to a vehicle) 1966 split screen VW Camper. I think I may have travelled by a similar mode of transport in the mid eighties by the parents of a school friend…maybe…but even then, I guess, we had no real idea of what a classic this vehicle would become. As I sat in the back seat, listening to the loud hum of the engine and the babble of Gregg and Jeff talking I felt really rather privileged.

First stop was Mount Keira which laid on stunning views of the coastal plains of Wollongong below. As we stood on the first viewing platform looking east towards the sea, we noticed an unusual take on the commemorative park bench - the engraved padlock. The railings up there are covered in these small records of memories and, whilst I do love the benches at Treyarnon, it strikes me that this is a great space-saving way to remember a special or sad occasion that allows for many others to enjoy their own memories in the future. It was also interesting to note how many different types of padlock and engraving have been used. The engraving on one even looked like it had been carried out by hand and protractor.

From this vantage point Jeff was able to point out the different suburbs of Wollongong and I think he was slightly bemused by Gregg’s desire to know which of the suburbs were more desirable than others. I think, perhaps, we were showing our Englishness.

On returning to the camper, we got an insight into what it means to own one of these things - people gazing admiringly into the windows and taking photos. I think Jeff finds it a little tedious, and who can blame him, but people are just fascinated by them - especially ones that look as pristine as this one does.

We then headed back down the mountain and decided to check out a folk festival that we had seen advertised. Seeing the word ‘folk’ I think we all thought that it would probably be cheap, or free, to enter and that that would make it a suitable way to while away an hour or so. It was $45 entry so we “did a U’ey” and, instead, headed for Bald Hill Headland Reserve for an ice-cream/sorbet (as soon as we were out of the camper the hoards began flooding to take a look and mutter things like "awesome car", whilst Jeff just left them to it) and a spot of Hang Glider watching. To boot, the views from this headland were amazing and we were able to see a considerable distance along the coast.

Having stopped for a brief schooner (about ¾ of a pint) at the Scarborough Arms Hotel (yes, there is also a Scarborough in Oz but it is somewhat more beautiful than its English namesake - sorry Yorkshire) thoughts turned to our rumbling stomachs. Jeff recommended an Indian restaurant that does $7 lunch boxes so we swung by, picked up three plastic tubs of rice and curry and headed to Corrimal Beach picnic area (which was, thankfully, shaded) to indulge ourselves in Lamb Rogan Josh and Butter Chicken (so tasty, I just decided to forget the calorific effect likely to emanate from a dish with butter in the title) before returning home to regroup.

Later, the four of us headed down to Port Kembla beach for a dip. The day was so hot that the, verging on cold, sea was a real tonic. The waves were a little too big for me though so I beat an early retreat.

As our last supper in Wollongong, Jeff cooked his ‘signature’ chicken dish for us - in a creamy sauce, on a bed of green beans and potato/sweet potato half and half mash. It was yet another culinary success. We have eaten so well in Wollongong that we might have to go on a diet!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Me in the back of the camperMe in the back of the camper
Me in the back of the camper

You can tell the engine is at the rear of these things - this was quite a tuneful ride!
View from Bald Hill Headland View from Bald Hill Headland
View from Bald Hill Headland

The Hang Gliders were taking off from just behind us
Look - a name we recongiseLook - a name we recongise
Look - a name we recongise

so I made Gregg take a photo!


Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.18s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb