Sick in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » The Rocks
October 16th 2015
Published: October 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Spent the last 4 days in Sydney. The first day was pretty cloudy and rainy, so it wasn't great for site seeing. I walked down George St. (The equivalent of Yonge St.), walked through China Town which wasn't that impressive considering how many Asians there are here, saw the opera house and bridge but the clouds made them look very unspectacular, took a ferry to manly and walked around darling harbour.

Day 2 I went to the blue mountains. I was feeling pretty sick and wanted to just sleep on the bus to be honest, but I pushed through, did a couple hikes and got some good pictures. After the blue mountain tour I met an Australian friend from swimming who took me for drinks at the opera bar. The view was certainly worth the $11 drinks. It was one of those moments when you take a breath, slow things down and truly appreciate where you are. It's not everyday you can have a beer a couple hundred meters from the Sydney Opera House and one of the most beautiful harbours in the world. (It's truly spectacular.)

Yesterday I met up with another friend from swimming and we did a hike from Bondi Beach to Coogee Beach. It took about 3 hours and you pass 9 other little secluded coves along the way. Really nice walk. I tried to do the whole thing barefoot but had to give up 2 hours into it because the pavement was getting too hot.

Today I spent the whole day in bed recovering. There are a lot of things I still want to do in Sydney, but I can barely get out of bed, have a bad fever, pretty bad flu. I have a flight to Darwin really early tomorrow and want to be fresh for that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb