Break Time!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » North Ryde
April 14th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello gang!!! So it's Tuesday evening, and I'm preparing to head off for the next three days with Leslie, Candace, and Hilary to Port Stephens and Hunter Valley. At the Port, we'll be going on a boat dolphin-watching, and once we find the darlings, swimming in a boom net with them. Also, we can swim with sharks (yes they're safe no worries) and rays if we'd like- Hilary and I are the only two who will probably. Then Thursday we head to Hunter Valley, a famous winery and resort area known for its wines, chocolates, and cheeses, of which we'll be doing a tour and tasting (YUM!!!). Course I'm looking forward to that tons, and I've packed a cute sun dress specifically for the occasion cause that's me. Usually the tour is only two days, but we've decided to stay another night so we can go surfing and to the beaches for a day, more relaxing and bonding time with the gals pretty much, which sounds positively wonderful. I'm super pumped, all packed in my backpack- only two pairs of shoes COUGH Daddy COUGH heeheehee. Upon my return, I promise to update again before heading off to New Zealand next Monday with the bigger group of gals.
These past couple of weeks have been mostly filled with studies and work as per usual before uni breaks. Hilary, Emily, and I joined the Macquarie Uni Red Cross society, and we had a bake sale to raise money for something important can't remember now on the 31st of March, but it turned out well even though that week was crazy rainy ugh not my weather dudes. On the 4th of April Tara, Emily, Hilary and I went with a group here to an AFL game (Australian Football League), which was quite interesting albeit a bit slow for my taste. Rugby's MUCH better in my opinion AFL's all kicking and little pushes no big tackles or scrums or violence SIGH. But the night was fun and well worth it- the president, treasurer, and one other executive member hung out with Tara, her roomie, and I after at her place just chilling, having some drinks, celebrating Sydney's win (145-107 or so) over Hawthorne. The guys are so much fun, super great, and quite nice; hopefully, we'll be hanging out again at some point, probably go to one of their soccer games cheer them on hoo-rah! as cheerleaders.
Pretty sure I mentioned it in my past note, but I now have another tattoo which was done on the 28th of March by Bodie at Steel Lotus in Darlinghurst, Sydney, and is positively beautiful. It's an Arabic symbol meaning 'love', and I wanted to have it permanently placed on my body for a few reasons. One, for Grandpa Yergy and Grandma Lisa, as they're now both in Heaven, as a tribute to their memory. Two, for family and how much it means to me throughout the course of my life- I love you Maman, Daddy, and Jazzi. Thirdly, for my incredible friends who've stuck by me over the years and left me with many memories I'll cherish forever. Finally, my second tattoo represents my time in Australia, and all the adventures I've had and will continue to have in the next two-and-a-half months. Thus, forever now I'm adorned in love.
On the 3rd of April, I met somebody who's absolutely great: Adam. We hit it off right away, and met by chance that night at a bar. My friend Kristen and I had gone to Luna Park, this fun amusement park by the water in Sydney, and we happened to be literally 3-5 minutes late for the bus home from Chatswood, a nearby town to Macquarie Uni. So since we had to wait an hour, we figured we'd get a drink in this fun bar/club across the road. As we head in, who should we bump into but Adam, who proceeded to hang out with us for hours, and insisted in paying for our cab home so we could stay and hang out later with him and his chill friends. I found him quite attractive, and by the end of the night we'd agreed to make plans to hang out again. Since that fateful night, we've hung out a few times, and things are flowing smoothly. We enjoy each other's company, talk easily, laugh a lot, his friends like me (or seem to), and he's a positive gentleman and sweetheart. When I get back from this trip and before New Zealand, he wants to see me, and of course I want to see him, so looks like I have a new beau for the next few months (not officially dating, but hanging out closely a bunch). I couldn't be happier, and he treats me like an "angel" as he's called me. More to come.....
Biology midterm and Linguistics portfolio went off without much of a hitch, not too worried about either, teensy bit for Bio but not really. Now it's just this darn Linguistics paper over break and reading a James Joyce novel for Modernism due the week after break when classes resume. Going to make my outline before leaving for this trip, and bringing Joyce with me to keep me company on the drive. Hilary and I have agreed to make a workout plan in order to stay in shape and come back looking like goddesses; both of us agree having a partner in this endeavor greatly helps. We walked for an hour and forty-five minutes around the track today, just talking about life, and the time flew by. Who knew working out could be that much fun?!?! For Easter Sunday, I attended the campus chapel service, and was rewarded with a wonderful feeling of spiritual renewal and positive energy. Quite pleased, I relaxed the rest of the day, just enjoying life.
And now I'm off to finish up some work, then heading into Sydney to catch our bus up the Coast at 7:30 PM. Until next time avid readers and buddies! All my love xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb