Welcome to Oz!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kensington
January 5th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

SOHSOHSOH

Need I say more?
First of all can I just say that Australia was never on my list of places I wanted to visit - why? - well they have eight legs! I always thought that they were everywhere and as I have a bit of a phobia I wasn't prepared to risk it. Anyway, I'm here now and can I just say - WOW, what the hell have I been thinking for all these years, Sydney is awesome, the waterfront is superb. I got the most fabulous view of the city as we came in to land but unfortunately my camera was in the overhead locker so you'll just have to believe me. I got my monies worth from the weekly travel ticket and just went everywhere. Firstly, the ferry over to Darling Harbour which has the most amazing waterfront, then I stopped off to pick up some sushi for lunch before heading towards the Sydney Opera House (or SOH as we like to call it!) to take loads of pics. I then headed towards the Botanic Gardens where I saw hundreds of fruit bats sleeping in the trees, then Mrs MacQuaries chair next with superb views of the Harbour Bridge and SOH, then I sauntered back to the Rocks which is the oldest part of Sydney and still has some of the original buildings which have been transformed into cafes, shops and bars. I didn't do the Harbour Bridge walk as the cheapest was $198, a little out of my price bracket, you can't take photos anyway from the bridge as no loose items are allowed, even your hankerchief has to be attached. Anyway, that was the first day. After that I did Bondi Beach and Manly, both using the fabulous Sydney Ferries which give you the best views of the Harbour, went to a birthday party on Bronte Beach and the city, oh and I managed to fit a day out at the Blue Mountains as well, fab. We drove to Katoomba, left the car then walked along the top towards the 3 Sisters. Unfortunately some idoit had set fire to part of the walkway so we had to take a small divertion but we arrived about 40 minutes later. We then walked across the bridge between 1 and 2 or is it 2 and 3?, anyway then came the climb down the 900 very steep steps to the bottom. We then had a very pleasant walk back towards the bottom of the cliff at Katoomba where you can look around an old mining village before catching the train up the very steep track. There is also a cable car but at the time we visited it was out of commission. We then drove to Leura, a lovely little town that has the most fabulous chocolate shop. A must to pick up those last minute Christmas gifts. Needless to say I enjoyed Sydney immensely and would definitely like to go back and recommend it to anyone and everyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb