Day 50 - Contemporary Art Museum, Banksy Exhibition and a night out


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Harbourside
April 10th 2024
Published: April 10th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Day 50 - Contemporary Art Museum, Banksy Exhibition and a night out

The starts to the day are getting slower, I can’t believe it Day 50! I did hear Bernard Making his smoothie this morning, but only put ecause ut ecause I was already awake. I was watching my iPad, as I knew it was far too early for me! I popped my earphones in, and lair browsing. I’m comfy and warm, chances are that I will nod back over to sleep!

Well, that worked, I woke up again at about 8:45. I am purposely having a later start, as I’m meeting Bernard and Kevin at 5:30 in Town Hall. My plan is that if I set off later, I can fill my day, constructively, without having to return to the apartment, or have to hang around aimlessly. So I plug my earphones back in, and browse a bit more! I know, this a a total contradiction of terms, because I’m aimlessly spending time in bed! But there is a chance of rain later, so I’d rather to that here, than in the rain!

I got showered, and dressed, I was on my way out of the apartment at about 11:30. My plan is, as always, start with breakfast/brunch. Today is brunch. I got the train into Circular Quay. I will find brunch there. I walked over to Thea Nurse’s Walk, I’ve previously seen some nice little cafes round that area.

I stopped at Asian Coffee Roasters. They are still offering eggs, which I’m happy with. I thought I might struggle as it’s now 12:15! My usual order of scrambled eggs and sourdough toast is in. I got a table in the little lane. There are actually no inside tables here, but I was lucky to get a table, as it’s very busy! It was another good breakfast, but to be honest, I’d be shocked if it wasn’t. I particularly like the ultra crunchy seeded sourdough bread!

At 1pm, I set off for The Contemporary Art Gallery. It was closed yesterday, so I thought that today is my perfect time to return. I purposely got off the train in this area to put me nearby the Gallery.

As I left the Nurses Walk, I saw, ‘The British Lolly Shop’. The Aussies call sweets, lollies! Strange! I went in and bought Bernard some Fruit Pastilles, I did try for Aniseed Twists, which is what he wanted the last time we were in a shop like this, but the ones they have, don’t look right! I got Gavin some Black Jacks, which he mentioned that he liked when he was a kid! I wasn’t happy with the Fruit Pastilles, so I went back to the shop, took a photo of the ones they had, and sent it to Bernard to check with him. He thinks they look right! So, I got him some! I’ll eat the pastilles on my walk today … ha ha

I walked over to the Museum of Contemporary Art. There are some seriously ’different’ art. I look at a piece, think out my own interpretation, then read the information on the side. Sometimes, I get close, but it’s not easy! But the process makes it so much more interesting!

I came out of the MCA on the opposite side to where I went in…. Just because I’m curious! I came out on the Quay where the 11 storey cruise liner is moored up. It is huge when you are stood next to it! I really wouldn’t want to be on one of those things! The quay is so busy today. To be honest, it usually is busy, but I think that having the cruise liner in, makes it a lot busier.

I can see the Opera Hose steps from here, they are also really busy! The people are pouring off the liner with their luggage. It looks like immigrant landing day… ha ha..and if that’s not enough, there is a bible bloke screaming his head off about Jesus being the only one to save us, at the absolute top of his voice. He doesn’t seem to even stop for breath!! I’m moving on, he’s doing my head in! Even the bin chicken is making a quick getaway!

I set off thinking, I will get a coffee to go, before setting off for the Banksy Exhibition. I’m not sure how it happened, but I found self in the queue for an ice cream. I swear, I was just looking at the flavours, then before I realised, I had a lovely looking Coconut Rough flavoured single scoop cornet in my hand!!! So obviously, I thoroughly enjoyed it! I sent Bernard a photo… just to make him jealous…. Ha ha After eating that ice-cream, I re thought about the fruit pastilles. I don’t want to eat them! I think I’ll gift them to Kevin tonight. That keeps all the lads beings treated equally!

I set off to the Banksy Exhibition. It’s now 2:55, so I’ve decided not to take the train, but to walk. The train is quick, but you miss so much! I passed lovely houses in The Rocks, artwork under the bridge, a war memorial set back off a side street, a little brass street urchin type boy statue, then the fire brigade, and police parked outside Cartier..,.. it’s worth walking!

I got a coffee to go, but sat outside in the street, opposite Dymocks Store. A great people watching position!

As I set off walking again, I’m very near to the Banksy Exhibition. I’m really looking forward to this!

The entrance is part of a Banksy set up from the Dismaland Entrance in 2005. Loved it! I had a choice as I entered, General, or Premium. Premium allows you to spray paint your own t-shirt, I’m in! I loved doing my t-shirt! It took me ages… ha ha. I thought to myself, I’m only here the once!

After completing my spray t-shirt job, I went round the exhibition. I took odd photos of paintings that I liked. I loved the whole thing. I’m so pleased that I went to see it, and did enjoy the full experience.

Bernard met me outside The Banksy Exhibition at 5pm. We are going over to North Sydney to The Rag and Famish for a good, ‘pie’.

We with the Kevin as we were walking towards the pub. Perfect timing. We started the night with a couple of drinks, as we were booked in for 5:30, which is considered to be a bit early for dinner. We came here for the pie, so I’m looking forward to an Aussie pie.

We ordered dinner. Bernard and I got the beef and Guinness, pie with chips peas and gravy. Kevin got schnitzel, commonly known as schnitty. The pie was really good. It was a bottomless pie, with really lean beef. I was disappointed when I saw the tiny little pot of gravy!! But to be fair, once I opened the pie, it had lots of gravy inside! I really enjoyed the pie!

As it Wednesday evening, you receive a raffle ticket with every drink that you buy. Then at 6:30, they draw a ticket, the winner then has a chance to turn a card from a board, if it’s a joker, they win the kitty which is currently $1400, if it’s any other card, they win a jug of beer! The guy won the jug of beer, so the prize fund goes up for these next time it’s played. It all added a bit of fun to the night. We stayed chatting until about 10pm, both Bernard and I are feeling tired. It’s time to go. Kevin has invited me for lunch at his workplace tomorrow. Apparently, it’s an experience to see! I’m looking forward to that. I feel quite honoured that he’s even invited me. A great thing for me to do tomorrow!

We went tap the station for the train. On the way, Bernard pointed out the view of the city from the opposite side of the Harbour Bridge. As always, it looks amazing all lit up with a dark sky.

On the station platform, a lady walked right it up to me to compliment me on my yellow shoes, and how much they bring out the yellow in my dess, also how nice she thought i looked. That was so nice of her to take the time to do that!

We finally arrived home, had a cup of tea whilst chatting with Gavin. I gave Gavin his Black Jacks that I got him today. He seemed chuffed with them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



10th April 2024

Day 50
Hi ya Les. Brilliant photo of you and Kevin really made me giggle 😂😂. I would have loved the Banksy exhibition, some more lovely photos hun xx
11th April 2024

Kevin
I know, he makes me look like a dwarf! I loved the Banksy stuff, especially making my own t-shirt!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb