Starting on the road again: Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Balmain
November 17th 2012
Published: February 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I tried to keep my blog up during my first year in Australia. I actually wrote drafts twice, however with a very unsuccessful year with iPods, lost them before they got online. Although it is tempting to just forget it, I'm going to try grasp back some of the memories and give an outline of my year's events. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />To start, setting the scene: I traveled before but never on my own. I always had a friend to keep me company so Australia seemed a good place to try it alone; English speaking country and it wasn't just to travel but work too. I knew a week after arriving my parents would be joining me for 3 weeks (this knowledge didn't stop me getting emotional as I was dropped off at Heathrow, mind). However the true realisation of going it alone came after my long flight, sleepily taking the bus to my hostel, I miss my stop. I'd been under the false impression I had a pact with the driver to signal when to get off. It wasn't until we continued out of the city by 45mins and questioning the location, that the driver then explains this was not so, drops me off in a random suburban street and with little explanation, tells me to wait on the opposite side of the road.<br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />Luckily I'd saved a plane snack (food makes everything easier to handle) & my next bus driver is more helpful - I arrive at the hostel and comatose as soon as my head hits the pillow. The first week is then filled with organising a bank, TFN number so I can work & Medicare. Sightseeing the Sydney Opera House, Harbour bridge, Manly national park & beach, botanical gardens... I was also able to catch up with Ken and visit the famous Bondi beach. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />We walked along a scenic cliff boardwalk to neighbouring beaches and bathed in the heat - something I wasn't used to in late November! However the oddest part to the day was on our return to the city stumbling across Santa Fest at Darling Harbour. Giant inflatable Santa's (in swimming costumes) crowded the skyline, wise men on stilts waved hello, Christmas carols being sung by people in shorts and vest tops. The production built up to Santa's on water skis doing stunts and fireworks above the bustling crowds. A very unique experience for someone only used to cold Christmases. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />The first week felt long as I tried to acclimatise to the jet lag and time difference - most nights lying wide eyed waiting for the morning to arrive, then feeling like a zombie through the latter part of the day. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />Typically it's when I need to leave my hostel at 5am to reach Sydney airport to meet the parents, that I start to have normal sleeping patterns. As I wait, I quickly realise the unusual hoards of teenagers around me are waiting for Taylor Swift. I eavesdrop on discussions about what they hope she's wearing; apparently denim and/or hot pants are favourites. I'm almost caught up in the bubble wondering who I am more excited to see walk through the gate, Miss Swift or my parents... Alas these poor teenagers' dreams were shattered as an overexcitable girl runs over shouting "you missed her, she went out the back". No one was going to believe her until she showed them a video on her phone. I could see tears welling in several faces as they turn around deflated. I went back to my coffee. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />After some passing time, I was greeted with the arrival of the parents. Cue some typical tired bickering (parents *rolls eyes*) & incorrect rental car booking, we were soon on our way to Nelson Bay, a resort town few hours north of Sydney. We had a smart apartment to base ourselves within walking distance to the beach and allowed for the parents to relax and try get used to the 8hours difference. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />In our time here we went to the largest moving sand dunes of the Southern Hemisphere, walked & drove to viewpoints and tried kangaroo fillets for the first time. I enjoyed the rich meat, however the parents weren't convinced. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />For one glorious viewpoint we had to climb several steps and steep walkways to the top of a large hill. I was taking it slow and steady to cater for my injured knee, ironically it was my mother, with no physical signs of struggle, who complained the most about the hike. It was worth it though. At the top the view spread miles before us, with long sandy beaches and a splattering of small hilly islands kissing the coastline, it took our breath away. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />Although we all enjoyed Nelson Bay, we always had the underlining anticipation to move on to see Reanna! I for one had not seen her for over a year and so was happy to drive back to Sydney for our flight onto Cairns, Queensland. <br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" /><br style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px;" />Sent from my iPod

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.055s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb