A time for reflection


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Balmain
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, happy new year. Ok, so I'm a little late, but this is really the first chance I've had to sit down and think over things, and realise quite how terrible I've been at updating this blog in the last year. And to think that my life changed so much since November 2007 and I've not put it in writing. So, my resolution for this year is to document more of what I've been up to. It won't quite be a Bridget Jones style diary, but it will be more common than an entry once every few months....

2008 was also a year for lots of travel - 2007 ended with me driving the Nullabor (Perth to Adelaide) which is an experience I'd recommend to anyone - but take a phone that works and LOTS of water! 2008 - there was the Australian Open tennis in Melbourne in January - where I was lucky enough to see the Federer marathon game. After that was my trip to Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef where I ticked the box for diving in one of the most famous spots on the planet. April for ANZAC day was a trip to Hobart to see Jane and Samia. Then in June was the ultimate trip to Ningaloo - snorkelling with whale sharks. Such a breathtaking experience, and not least because they swim so fast that its tough keeping up with them! There was another trip to Melbourne at the start of September for my firm annual dinner and to Cairns in mid September (but no diving this time) and then my annual-ish trip to the UK and Europe in September/October.

2008 was also a year of achievement - I got myself a great new job which I started in January and although I spent the winter as a hermit, I finally became admitted as a lawyer in NSW at the end of December - it doesn't really change my job, but I don't have to state only being a lawyer in England & Wales.

Other news from 2008 was: 2 of my girlfriends in London giving birth (1 boy and 1 girl); 3 engagements; and 1 pregnancy announcement. Nothing that exciting for me, but I did end 2008 much happier than I'd ended 2007......but more details of that to follow in later postings.

Happy new year to you all.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb