Kate's Solo trip on a Moto to Tassie


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Out of Gunning NSW 81 secs
The plan - To ride my W650 Motorbike from Thirroul NSW to Melbourne via the Snowy Mtns over 3 days - board the Spirit Of Tasmania and spend 5 days with my sister and her family in Wynyard - return by boat to Melbourne, then ride home over a different route via Rutherglen .......

Day one didn't start too well. First of all I suprised myself by waking up early. By 7am I had just finished loading my gear onto the bike, clad myself head to toe in wet weather gear and went to roll the 200kgs of loaded bike off the centre stand to see it fall flat on its side. It seems waking too early has its drawbacks - lack of common sense - I should have been sitting on the bike to do this, but alas, I wasn't.
Given that it was pouring rain I saw it as a sign. After hauling the thing upright I discovered my RH foot peg was lying very still - quite broken - on the ground. Hmmmm, finger pressed to corner of my mouth in wonder as I turned in a slow circle for a minute or two.

I won't bore you with the finer details - basically I pulled a peg that didn't quite match off my old Honda, bolted and wired it on, road into the 'Gong and had a very nice coffee at Diggies while I waited for the motorbike shop to open. They didn't have the part so I improvised with some bolt on retrofit pegs and half of the remain broken peg. This got me all the way to Tasmania where I had them post the new peg and I fitted it on my second day there.

Anyway - I thought I'd post the few pics I took along the way. I had a really great time - quite meditative and satisfyingly exhausting!

Kate



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb