Shark tale


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Richmond
July 20th 2017
Published: July 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

First of all, yes I realise it's been more than a week. The reason for this is because I've been running all over Sydney trying to get some things sorted for the university. Also, no, I did not actualy see sharks. We just talked about them a lot this week.

So the last time I updated was on Monday the 10th of July and I can now happily report I have seen some more of Sydney by now. So one of the things I did was go to the movie theatre in Richmond with some people from the village (when I say village I mean the campus). We went to see Spiderman: homecoming, which was way better than I expected it to be. Something I really liked was how the Theatre here is exactly what you'd expect a movie theatre to be like if you've only seen them on television. A tiny little place with red walls, 2 theatre rooms and one of those white boards showing which movies are played that night.

On Tuesday the 11th, I had a meeting with some of the other exchange students in order to help us integrate a bit more smoothly. This pretty much consisted of information about the website and such and a scary talk about people getting mugged and drowning in rips. This meeting was on another WSU campus, the one in Parramatta, in the newest building the WSU has. WSU is apparently very proud of the fact that this is their first 'vertical' structure. This made me realise that we almost exclusively have buildings with at least 5 floors back in Utrecht.

On Thursday the 13th, we went on a walk from Bronte to Bondi beach with most of the current exchange students. Met a lot of fun people that day and because it's winter here right now it wasn't as busy as it often is at Bondi. This is also when I got talked into taking surfing lessons last Sunday.

People who have known me long enough to see me do anything that needs any form of balancing will understand why my mom started laughing when I told her I was going surfing (Right after she told me I would get eaten by sharks of course). To be honest, I thought I was going to hate it. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed myself. I wouldn't say I am anywhere near good at it, but just getting pushed towards the beach on a board gives a really cool feeling.

So last Monday I started my classes and after some last-minute changes (as in I changed some things around yesterday) I am now enrolled in 4 units; Toxicology, Metabolomics, Imaging Science and Japanese 102 (last minute addition because all other science related units i tried to fit in had overlaps with other classes).

Even though Japanese is a last-minute addition, I am actually rather hyped about that since I will be heading over to Japan in January and I am hoping that knowing at least a little Japanese will help me while I am there.

I will be adding some more photos and I would also like to add that, since classes have now started for me, I am not quite sure when I'll have something to talk about here next.



Marieke.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Seaside swimming poolSeaside swimming pool
Seaside swimming pool

Now this would be a nice place to do laps :)
Ferry toward ManlyFerry toward Manly
Ferry toward Manly

My first look at the Harbor bridge!


20th July 2017

Wat fijn dat de haaien geen honger hadden ?
Wat leuk deze last minute verandering in de vakken. Kan me voorstellen dat je even erg blij was ? Hopelijk appeltje-eitje en een goede voorbereiding voor januari.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb