Only 1 week to go .....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Quaama
August 8th 2014
Published: August 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi family and friends and welcome to this my first travel blog. In case you are confused by my blog name, let me tell you that the Sally Wagon is my trusty old Toyota Hiace campervan in which I and my wonderful travel mate, Polly Panda, are about to embark upon yet another Sally Wagon adventure. Departure date is Monday 18th August and on that day, in convoy with my friend Lou from Bermagui in her Toyota Hiace campervan, known as Pearl, we will set out on a 7 or 8 week road trip. We will head first up towards Bathurst and spend some time exploring old gold mining villages and historic sites both south and north of there. Then we will head west as far as Broken Hill, maybe north from there up to Milparinka or Tibooburra, taking in White Cliffs on the way. Then south to the Minindee Lakes, on to Wentworth, Mildura and the mighty Murray River before starting to wend our way back through Victoria to home. Both Lou and I are keen photographers and we are truly looking forward to some wonderful outback vistas, stunning sunrises and sunsets and all things large and small in between. I look forward to taking you along with us by way of this travel blog and to sharing photos at regular intervals. Stay in touch ... I believe that whenever I add to this travel blog you will receive an email notification to let you know of the latest post.

Today I had the Sally Wagon fitted out with an icomm uhf radio, and Pearl is getting her's fitted next week - so that we can ensure our safety in remote areas, and more easily stay in touch when we drift apart from time to time to follow independent interests. Earlier this week, Sally had her pre-trip service; she is fitted with new tyres, new brakes and rotars, wheel bearings, and her engine is purring sweetly. As I write this, my dining room table and the spare bed room are strewn with "stuff" to be packed and loaded next week. Its getting exciting now. The count down has begun .....

Advertisement



9th August 2014

Only 1 week to go
Hi di, good luck on your adventures. Stay safe and have a wonderful trip. Cheers, unicorn

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb