Nimbin day trip!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nimbin
October 30th 2008
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I decided to take a day trip to Nimbin, about an hour and a half outside Byron Bay. There are lots of different tour buses to choose from though Grasshoppers (pun intended I think) included a BBQ lunch. The guide Mick was good, lots of random trivia and funny stories from previous tours. Everyone on the bus got along really well, we were all chatting and laughing by the time we got to Nimbin.

Nimbin prides itself on being the little hippie town in the hills of Australia, the Amsterdam of Australia if you will, though marijuana is still illegal. I walked down to the museum to check out the murals, modern art and paraphernalia. The museum was a bit more jarring than a conventional museum yet beautiful in its own way. After that I wandered over to the embassy, which provides all sorts of information. Coming from a more conservative background, it was really interesting to see a new point of view. Those who see the alternative lifestyle as one that is violent and dangerous should come to Nimbin and see how peaceful and interesting the town is, this town in which alternative is mainstream.

We stopped for a BBQ lunch at the dam and reservoir. It was lovely, right in the rain forest we had our burgers and stretched our legs. After lunch we went to a local swimming spot. A couple of guys jumped from the cliffs which was pretty entertaining. There were a few locals at the swimming hole too. I sense that they don't normally have such an audience because the stunts became more and more outrageous!

It was dusk when we got back to Byron Bay. I decided not to waste my last night here, I got an ice cream and walked down to the beach to watch the sunset. I have to say, it was a fantastic day!

Advertisement



30th October 2008

Fun!
Hey Kat! I got a drunken kangaroo in the mail yesterday, thanks!! Your trip to Nimbin sounds like lots of fun, and I would totally want to stay in a teepee. Enjoy your beaches cuz it is Raincity back here!
31st October 2008

Yay Aus!
Hey Kat! i'm so glad you're having an awesome time in Aus! I love reading your blog :)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb