Orientation Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Lismore
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we had an "orientation day" for our student teaching placements. We met the preschool center directors at the university to go over our requirements for our placements. We have assignments that we have to complete each week, and we will be having 2 "head weeks". Our head weeks are week 3 and 4 so we can get adjusted to the center before we do a head week and then we will be able to relax and have fun for our last week which is week 5. Before we know it, I will be back in the USA!

After discussing our requirements, our center director, Kylie, took us to the center to show us around. We met all of the staff and got to see each room. I found out I will be working in the 3 & 4 year old room. My head teacher was gone today so I joined April in the 4 & 5 year old room. Today, we only stayed until 2:00, but most days we will stay from 8:30-4. The set up of the center reminded me a lot of an American daycare center. Their days are less structured than American preschools, but they have some similarities. They have morning snack, lunch, and afternoon snack and they also have a lot of outdoor play. In the afternoon, they have rest time for 30 minutes just like most American preschools.

Today started out very sunny and warm, but this afternoon there has been rain off and on. Luckily, April and I walked home at a good time and didn't get poured on! Before dinner, April and I are going to go to the mall to get some things we need for school and then it will probably be a chill night because we have our first full day at the center tomorrow morning! My sleeping schedule is still off. I have only been getting 4-5 hours of sleep so I'm pretty exhausted. Waking up at 5:00 every morning and not being able to get back to sleep is not fun so hopefully I get on a good schedule soon!!

I will be sure to post more about our placement as the week goes on 😊

Hope everyone is enjoying their summer!! I'm jealous...it's chilly here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb