Some more tips


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Eden
February 6th 2015
Published: February 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi readers, hope everyone enjoyed my first post as much as I enjoyed sharing it! I've spent the day traveling up to Pambula beach from the National Park today, and passed the time driving by thinking of some other tips I can give to readers who might be inspired to take a trip like mine.

I had a few thoughts but one of the most obvious things I could think of while driving was that you really need to pick the right kind of vehicle for the trip you're planning. I had originally envisaged myself traveling in a giant motorhome, setting up camp by the beaches for a few days at a time with tables and all, but when it came down to it, taking a giant house with me wherever I went just didn't make sense. I've always been a bit of a green thinker, coming from a farming family we've always been pretty in touch with the earth, and when I think about the amount of petrol that must be spent on those giant mobile homes, I just couldn't justify it for one person's comfort. And of course now I'm much happier just traveling in a small campervan with my bed, stove and a few small mod-cons. Honestly it's all I need, and I can't imagine driving one of those big motorhomes round these bendy roads, especially at night. Worth considering, especially if you're environmentally minded.

Second, expanding on my advice to save money wherever you can, my new friend Mike (hi Mike if you're reading) who I met while stopped overnight in Eden had a few tips of his own. Apparently you're better off getting insurance on your van from someone different to you hire company which I never even thought of looking into. Too late for me now, but I guess it could save readers some money. He also mentioned not to try to use dashboard cleaner on your car. Apparently he used it right before returning his last rental and ended up getting billed extra for it! My rental company said they would take care of the cleaning themselves so I'm just going to leave that to them.



Thirdly, check if plates and cutler are included if you're hiring your car. I made the mistake of bringing my own, only to find out they were included in the price! Now I've got far too much cutlery, and it's just taking up space.



I'd also suggest campers know where local camping grounds are, and trying to stick to them. There's a bit of a community that develops between people on roadtrips who stay at these places, and it's nice to see a few familiar faces occasionally. Especially for the grey-haired nomads, you'll get to know some similar fellow travelers if you stop at popular parks. Plus there's a good chance you'll get booked if you try just parking on the side of the road, and sometimes it's nice to use showers and other facilities available outside your van for a change.



Thanks for reading everyone, I'll post again when I next find somewhere with the wifi availbable and a free hour!



Jane

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.3kb