the trip begins


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Canowindra
January 23rd 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

3 weks ago I left my dear country with a my friend Marco and after 24 hours of flight I’m landed to Sydney!

In the first days I opened an bank account, started the documentations for the medicare ( analogo della nostra tessera sanitaria) and the TFN(Tax File Number)(to required the repayment of the tax), then I’ve visited the city spreading resumes (CV)!! After the Christmas Holiday the hospitality is full, every manager has already formed his staff! However I’ve done a try as dishwasher-kitchen hands but I had not enough experience ( I didn’t understand everything that the Australian chefs said me!). In the end of the second week of January I’ve found a “job” as car washer, but it is not possible to term it as a real job, because I was paied only when I cleaned, but if there weren’t enough cars the managers didn’t call me and I was in break (no paied).

Probably because of the special situation, Sydney didn’t transmit me positive emotions, I’ve visited the city spreading CV and not as tourist or better as traveler! Staying in the city I’ve been the impression that everything was artificial without story and the principal stuff that moves everything is the consumption! I’ve an initial opinion of this country, but is too soon to expound it!

Farther I image that the situation outside the great city could be completely difference!!

In the third week of January I decided to not lose time to research another job and I decided to join WWOOF.

WWOOF is an exchange of 4 - 6 hours work per day for meals and accommodation, usually in the family home in an organic farm!

I’ve found an ad in a farm with vineyard near Canowindra (Rosnay Organic Wines Pty Ltd
Rivers Road, Canowindra) with accommodation in family home, strawbale house!

I’ve left Sydney and Marco and I’m arrived in Statham’s family from two days! The family is composed of husband, wife and three kids, the work involve bunch thinning and picking figs!

But it is another story!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb