Windy day at Merry Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Batemans Bay
March 11th 2014
Published: March 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Merry BeachMerry BeachMerry Beach

A lovely sunrise
I woke and needed the loo around 6am. When we don’t have power we have to use the electric pump to bring water from the tank into the taps and loo. The pump is VERY noisy and would wake everyone nearby, including Barry. I decided to take a torch and go down the path to the camp toilets, instead. It was sunrise, to my surprise, so I got my camera and watched and photographed as it changed colours, subtly but very prettily. Then back to bed and a sleep in till 10:40am. Lazy, huh? Nice though.

We spent the day doing the cleaning and washing. The signs in the Laundry said that they used bore water and the management took no responsibility for any discolouration caused by it. I decided to risk it and put my 4 x $1 coins in. The washing was done very fast with no apparent browning, but there were no washing lines to hang it up on anywhere, so we had to put up the awning and hang a line from it. The problem was the strong wind blowing from across the water that made the awning rattle badly. I was worried it was weakening
Merry BeachMerry BeachMerry Beach

Some of the different birds around the caravan site, including Wood Ducks, Teals, and a Heron.
the hinges. I did spend $3 on the drying machines but the clothes came out really quite wet so that was a waste!

With the air being so damp, the clothes were not drying, despite the strong wind and it took all afternoon. I didn’t have an iron so I couldn't do that - so once the clothes were finally able to come down - I'd finally finished.

That evening we fed the birds again but it was so windy they were reluctant to come down. I managed to coax one out of a tree and he dug his claws hard on my arm trying not to get blown off. It didn't work - one extra strong blast finally blew him off and he dropped to the ground. He was very surprised! After that, I sat on the edge of the flower bed so they weren’t so high up and vulnerable, and they did feed a bit.

I cooked a knock-up meal (basically from leftovers and bits and pieces) and we had some cheesecake for dessert. I walked up to the office to pay for another night and asked about the book exchange. She said the books
Merry BeachMerry BeachMerry Beach

One of the young 'roos near our van
were complimentary and there was no need to swap (which is normal practice). I did swap 2 books, though (we don't need the unnecessary weight), and borrowed one more. They also had a very fat white ball point pen, flexible ruler to measure your fish catch, and a small notepad on the counter, all with their advertising on, of course, so I took one of each. Very useful.

Surprisingly, Barry came across someone from the Gliding Club of Victoria that he has belonged to for more than 40 years. He was riding around the caravan site on his bike and recognised Barry. He invited us to pop over, but it was nearly dark by the time I’d finished the washing and dinner so we said we'd do it tomorrow.

It rained steadily all night again, but the corner of the pop-out was OK, this time, thank goodness!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Merry BeachMerry Beach
Merry Beach

A Teal with its pretty green head picking up the dropped seeds
Merry BeachMerry Beach
Merry Beach

A Wood Duck with its small brown head also scrounging seed


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb