Scooting around NSW


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Albury
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

One of the camping spots I camped in by the Murray River. It was nice to wake up to the sounds of birds.
Although it is now July the fifth and I am no longer in NSW, all this should have been up on travelblog around the twentieth of May. Albury was my chosen base although I quickly grew tired of the place in favour of Wagga. However, bookings were made and I was finishing up my work in Albury after several awesome weeks where work saw me go from here east to Bateman's Bay via Canberra where I then went north to Nowra and then followed the Hume Highway from Goulbourn back to Albury. It was very educational - it gets very very cold on the Great Dividing Range and most mornings my camp was frozen. Being the railway fan that I am, I made a stop at most stations on the way. I loved the railway - of course - and found the train stations to be more than fascinating. Most of them are still original and Albury train station was actually built with the intention of being a building to let the Victrians know that the people of NSW were claiming the area. Perhaps this is why the Murray River is known as NSW water.

One of the few things
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

The XPT at Albury!! This came just after I had arrived in Albury for the first time.
I remember was when I needed parts to fix a problem with the car and I was unable to find the bits I needed in Albury - or Wagga - so I tracked some down in Melbourne. I still had heaps of work to do but I knew that fixing the car was the priority because if I didn't fix it, the problem would be on my mind until I did. So, I made the decision at 11:00 at night to wait up for the 4:12am XPT to Melbourne. I had a great time hanging around Albury in the early hours of the morning and catching the XPT was fantastic beyond words. The trip back to Albury was equally as good. I also enjoyed spending six hours in Melbourne making use of trams.

Anyhoo, I had a great time over there but it was getting too cold and even Wagga was freezing so once back in Albury, I went towards the Snowy Mountains. Why? Well, I don't really know but it seemed like something to do and in my next entry you will see why I am glad I did!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Again, this is the same train at Albury station. I know this because the baggage trolleys say Albury.
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

The XPT pulls in to Yass Junction!! This station is wonderful. It feels like it was just put together by someone who wanted the train to stop there and then never looked at again. It's a beautiful little station.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

I think this is back in Albury but it could very well be in Wagga Wagga. The railway line is elevated for quite a distance.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

A considerable distance east of Albury on the side of a considerably large body of water which I presume is the Hume Dam. I actually have no idea what it is called.


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb