Canberra Day Tour


Advertisement
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday was an exhausting day, I woke up at an unhumanly hour to catch the tour bus to Canberra, the capital. I received a tip that the capital isn’t very exciting but that a day tour is cool, a tip that I would pass on. Our guide Jack, an Aussi gentleman, was really knowledgeable and funny. He made the 4 hour drive down seem short, though it could also have been because I fell asleep at some point. I will say in my defense that the little old woman in the next row fell asleep too and was snoring pretty loudly at some point. At our morning tea stop I shared a cookie with 2 white-splotched crows that I found out later are actually magpies. When we arrived in Canberra we stopped for lunch and went to the National Museum of Australia. The highlight was the ‘garden of the future’, an artistic representation of Australia and speculations about the future. Paul would have loved it; it looked like something he might dream up. After that we toured the parliament buildings and drove along the embassy road. Parts of the bus would cheer as we passed respective homelands, Canada had pretty good showing. Just before we left we stopped at the War Memorial. I thought it might be sad, but it was more serene somehow. By the time I was dropped off I simply curled up in bed and fell asleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb