Welcome to Wyoming


Advertisement
North America
June 9th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

RodeoRodeoRodeo

Some real life rodeo action!
Right.....
so I am in Wyoming!!! INSANE I Know!!!

as the plane circled the town i coulden't help but wonder what a city girl like myself was doing visiting a town that seemed helpless in the middle of the vast desert!

When I got off the plane a good friend of mine from Whitworth was there to greet me along with some huge gusts of wind... The wind here is absolutly insane.... and there is loads of real live (well more so dead) tumble weed!!!! how totaly wild west!!!

Anyways... Alicia took me around town and showed me the sites... I was actually surprised to see that Cody is a pretty substantial town... I am attepting to withold judgement untill i spend some more time here... We made home made ice cream the first night here and it felt like i had entered some movie about the perfect life of a family in middle America... much like Garrison Kielors Lake Wobegone everyone was goodlooking and above average. The moose on the wall, i have got to admit took me by surprise....
i didn't know that people really had dead animals on their walls!!! again... already this expereince has
floodfloodflood

this is what happens when Seattle comes to Wyoming!!!
reminded me how little I know about the people within my own country...

We went to the rodeo in the evening... a rodeo in real life is totaly different then watching one on tv... it's much sadder to watch the calf roping and much more amusing to watch the steer wrestling in real life! again... we chatted with a cowboy who was incredibly sweet... and in my mind the perfect example of what a cowboy should be... haha a girls dream!

That was yesterday...

Today I went to Buffalo Bill's Wild west museum... A must for anymore visiting Wyoming... it was huge, and actually had some pretty good art... the exibits were both kid and family friendly... it was enough to keep a skeptical 20 year old with a short attention span busy for several hours.... Next We walked around town.... now that was insane... each shop felt like it was one of those themed stores you find in towns with lots of tourists... but every single one had a wild west theme.... .... Cody doesent seem to be just a place.. it seems to be a life style... I tried Buffalo and Elk Sausage in one
Wagon fun!Wagon fun!Wagon fun!

Alicia and I enjoying one of the many monuments that decorate the town!
of the stores.... The Elk was pretty sick.. but the Buffalo wasen't half bad.... ended up buying some Buffalo Sausage and Cheese shapped like a buffalo to bring back to the parental units... I can't wait to see their faces!!!

on the way back from town it started pouring! it seems like i brought the rain with me.... Cody's streets are not meant for the kind of rain it got and soon everything was flooding... Alicia just HAD to get out of the car and take pictures... and ill admit it was a blast... she always has a good sense of where fun can be had!

I spent the evening with Alicia and her friends... it was fun to get to hang out with other people my age and get a bit more of a feel for what it is like to live in Cody... Everyone is nice.... and really good at finding things to keep themselves entertained... It's been a blast... and tommarow we go to Yellowstone!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb