How to get from Vancouver to Chicago without flying


Advertisement
North America
July 18th 2010
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Take the bus, it only takes 50 hours! I thought this monster bus journey required it's own blog entry because 2 days is actually a significant-ish portion of my trip.

Well, it took a long time. A really long time. Actually, it wasn't that bad: I slept for at least 35 hours of the total journey, and most of the time I was awake I was perfectly content to just look out the window and listen to music. The only bad part was when 2 of the most obese people I've ever seen in my entire life (no exaggeration) decided to sit on the 2 seats directly behind me. I'm not actually sure how they fit, but it was fine until the guy started to explain to his friend the real reason why he was uncomfortable - he couldn't pass wind in such a tight proximity with lots of strangers. A few minutes into the trip his morals apparently loosened (as did his bowels?), and although him and his friend found it highly amusing, each time it happened I vomited into my mouth and died a little inside.

Farting aside, the only real downside of having a 50 hour bus ride is that I missed out on 50 hours I could've been exploring America and meeting amazing new people. Actually, after saying that, I actually did get talking to a few people who were sharing large portions of the trip with me, in particular one person from Wisconsin who I got on great with and although we attempted to arrange to meet in Chicago it ended up not being possible. Next entry, Chicago itself!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb