Life in Oakland, California, USA


Advertisement
North America
April 9th 2006
Published: April 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have lived in Oakland since I was 8 or 9 years old. (I'm 73, will be 74 in July, 2006.)

If you are thinking of traveling to California, you might consider staying in Oakland instead of San Francisco. You can jog three miles around the lake in the downtown area; you have a choice of lodgings, from motels to the elegant Claremont Hotel on the Oakland-Berkeley border. There are even some small B&B's.

Jack London Square, on the estuary between Oakland and the island city of Alameda, has hotels and restaurants, either there or nearby. Eight blocks away thereis the beginning of Oakland's Chinatown. It has a lot of character, wonderful restaurants, markets with exotic foods, lots of Asian shoppers, and no stores for tourists! My favorite restaurant there is the Cambodian restaurant at 8th St. and Alice St., "Phnom Penh".

You may emailme for more Oakland information at b_polt@Yahoo.com.

Here in Oakland I am enjoying my twin granddaughters, 6 months old. I love having my daughter and son-in-law living here with my husband and me, though I understand, of course, that they would like to have their own lodgings later on. For the present, it is very convenient to have Mamá to help.

So,...on to my own TRAVEL blog part. I am busy trying to plan a trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. I'll have to add some entries in those categories. What I really want is to get information through the forum.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb