Why PAY to volunteer?


Advertisement
North America
May 28th 2010
Published: May 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post


This is a question that keeps coming up as I talk about my Volunteer plans, and fundraising. A logical question, with a very logical answer. Most International Volunteer Organizations are non-profit, which means their success relies heavily on the contributions made by volunteers.
Cross-Cultural Solutions (CCS) is non-profit, and to run this organization from the home office to each placement site takes a lot of money, and a lot of time. Upon signing up for my program, I was sent a packet of useful information. In this packet, there was information on the Moroccan culture, the placement site, what I can expect, contact information for the in-country drivers, and phrases I would find useful in-country. Needless to say, CCS is there guiding me from the start. Volunteers are given program managers to answer any questions, and help make us feel comfortable with our decision to volunteer and enter a foreign country.
Our dollars are also put to use at our volunteer sites. The program fee also covers the following:
*Lodging
* Transportation to and from the airport and to and from the Volunteer site
*Authentic Moroccan cuisine for every meal
*Bottled Water
*Extensive Travel Medical Insurance
*Emergency Evacuation insurance
*Language assistance
*Professional locally based staff
*Local Phone Calls
*Incoming International Phone Service
*24-hour Security
*24-hour Emergency Hotline
*In country cultural and learning activities

Although, I have yet to experience the hospitality of the in-country staff, I have talked to other volunteers, who say they are surprised the fee isn’t more! I know the cost of this volunteer trip is high, but the experience I’ll take away from those 2 weeks will be worth far more!
~Leslie


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb