NYCe seeing ya


Advertisement
North America
January 15th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Poughkeepsie, New York
Boulia met me in a bar on Columbus Ave where we had a bite to eat before heading upstate to Poughkeepsie. On the way, we stopped in at her friend´s house where they were celebrating her daughters´ namesdays and I had my very first taste of ice cream cake. It´s dirty but lush. It was a very pleasant visit, made all the more interesting by the life-size cut-out of Taylor someone who was lurking in doorways and behind Christmas trees without apparently moving.

Boulia et al live in a gorgeous huge country house which looked utterly splendid in the snow. They´d made me up a bed in the red room, which was also the bar. The kids came down at 0730 to say hello. Well, actually, what Mimi said, as she was swivelling on her bar stool, was, "Hello. Who are you?" Sevik said he remembered me but Mimi dobbed on him. Anyway, it was lovely to see them and I wish it could have been for longer, but they had to go off to school.

After eating a slap-up brekkie and perusing all the family pictures on the walls (along with the autographed photo of Rachmaninov), Boulia and I headed to the railway station. We stopped to get coffee, tea and cakes, and unfortunately got carried away and missed the train. So we had a picnic inside Poughkeepsie station (nicer than Exeter St Davids) while we waited for the next one. The train to NYC travels along the Hudson most of the way and the views were stunning. I took some photos but they don´t really do it justice.

New York, New York
My last night in the northern hemisphere was spent in Brooklyn with my cousins-of-some-description, Russell, Janis, Beatrice and Odette, and it was lovely. Before I left for the airport , I spent some time writing postcards in my (current) favourite Brooklyn cafe-bar, The Blackbird. They were even playing Beirut when I went in, it was that perfect. However, I failed to spot a postbox on the way back and now I have three postcards with the wrong country´s stamps on them.

Thank you to everyone who´s put me up over the last few weeks. I´ve sort of been wondering what the devil I´m up to, taking a year off, but easing into it by stopping off with you guys has been lovely.

No. of days you´ve been missing me already (unless I just stayed with you):
00
DAYS  
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS




Advertisement



25th January 2010

do miss you!
Only 27 days?? How will I cope until October?? Now I miss NYC too, and the Bla1ckbird cafe. Did you have a pot of tea? I loved it when we went there. Also I love the Brooklyn cupcakes...but you know that already!xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
25th January 2010

Great to hear from you and know that you are on your way...keep us informed. love, Ailsa
25th January 2010

ice cream cake
jealous
29th January 2010

It was super lovely having you to stay... glad we, along with your other hosts, helped to ease you into the traveller life. How is BA going? I saw some photos on the internet and you looked great! Dx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb