Getting Ready


Advertisement
North America
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Backpack Test-runBackpack Test-runBackpack Test-run

Tonight I pre-packed my backpack to make sure I wouldn't fall over when I put it on!
The trip is set. I leave in 4 days for my first visit to New Zealand. Why New Zealand? For the wine of course! I started planning this trip in September and almost chickened out a few times. Thankfully Brad, the owner of the winery I work at, kept me on track with my goal. Though I haven't had much time for planning, I feel pretty confident about the trip at this point. I've somehow managed to meet my monetary goals, (not easy for a poor salesgirl!) I had to do a few odd things to help this along, some I'm proud of, some I'm not. (; Donating plasma made me feel like a scum bag, but it cashed in at an extra $50 per week. Never mind that I passed out at every session, its all over now right? Participating in various experiments at the university raked in a cool $150 that will surely help out. Sending off my scrap gold and silver to the refinery (by far the best idea I had), should pad my trip with about $750. I sold lots of earrings, one custom ring, and am still working to complete one large commission piece, altogether bringing in $680. Add in a nice Christmas bonus from the boss, stir well, and taa-daa! I think I will make it!
I fly out of Chicago on Wednesday and after 4 flights, 24 hours in the air, and 11.5 hours of layovers I will finally arrive in Auckland on Friday afternoon. I'm pretty sure I picked the furthest country I could possibly travel too! At least it seems that way to someone who gets antsy on a two hour flight!
For my first two nights in Auckland I opted to fork out the extra cash for a private room at the Empire Hostel downtown. This will give me the chance to recoup in peace from my travels. I don't have any plans yet for stuff to do in Auckland, but I figure I will likely try to visit any art museums they may have and also try to make time to meet up with some of the fellow travelers that I have met online. Whatever I do, I'm sure it will be great because it will be 70 degrees there! (: See yah later winter!

Advertisement



8th January 2010

Proud
Peg, I am soo proud of you and cant wait to read more about your journeys...I wish I could have gone with you! I miss you! Please be careful and come home to see me soon!! Love your sis, Tricia

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb