Day Four - Georgetown, Grand Cayman


Advertisement
North America
November 12th 2008
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

To our surprise we docked very close to the port here. It is a beautiful place. On the little ferry over we heard another passenger talking about how to find the "free/cheap" snorkeling. My dh (and my dad and uncle at first) were all over this. First we decided to look around the port at the stores.

Oh I can't forget the great 😱 presentation we went to the night before on ship. It gave us all the coupons for discounts and free items at the shops at port. So we spent the first half of the day running from store to store looking for all these items. Now this not the flea market/bargaining type of shopping. This is your real expensive stores. Not sure if our time and $25 was worth it for the items received, but it was like a fun scavenger hunt. I am still amazed at how CLEAN all the shops were.

Finally we reached the area that my husband had been waiting for...snorkeling...omg it was hilarious! Of course my dad and uncle chickened out of this excursion. But my adventurous husband got all geared up and jumped into the ocean. It was amazing (from what he says) how beautiful all the fish and baby sharks were. We actually could see quite a few species from the standing on the rocks. We just chilled out and had a good afternoon.

Back on the ship there was a musical comedy, Once Upon A Time that I heard was one of the best. We didn't go see it because it was BINGO night. I couldn't wait for this night because the last cruise got me a little addicted. Now I didn't realize that it would cost so much more than the other cruise. So the first time we just sat and watched the crowd. I thought I was a BINGO junkie some of these couples bought like 3-4 ticket cards...they even had electronic ones that were so cool!!! I couldn't wait until the next time for BINGO!

The one thing that I really loved about our cruise experience was the staff. We were blessed to have a wonderful and very engaging stateroom attendant! She took care of our major problem (some water on our floor from the shower) with diligence and promptness. She was consistent in making sure our room was cleaned and we had everything we needed. Every day she would joke about something new with us. She so made our trip more fun. Our head waiter and assistant waiter were the BEST! The head waiter was very attentive, but also very reserved. It wasn't until he brought us a picture of his wife that we actually saw a smile. Our assistant waitress was the complete opposite. Talk about fun-loving and exciting. That was Abby. You could choke laughing so hard at this girl!!! 😊 She had only been on the ship for a few weeks but I could tell she was a natural at making peoples vacation memberable.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb