July 7th


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I had another 6:15 to 2:30 shift. I was 3 minutes late…..and apparently it DOES matter. Lateness aside my cash drawer came up even today! After work I went to the recreation center and joined the 100 mile hike club and the Yellowstone degree program. I have about 15 miles to count towards my 100 and I try to add a few miles every week. The Yellowstone Degree Program is a club where you get points for doing Yellowstone stuff like tours and book reports and such. There are 3 levels each consisting of 50 points (bachelor’s, masters, doctorate) and when you reach a level you get a pin and a gift haha. After signing up for all that junk I went to Observation Point for the first time! Observation Point is a hike that takes you up a hillside to look out over Old Faithful and then you can hike to a geyser that is all alone on the hill. It was a really good hike and I’m trying to do it often to get in shape for real hiking with my front desk friend Brian (from Michigan) and Aishia. I had left to do the Observation Point hike around 8pm but I ran into my Romanian friend Mike in front of Old Faithful. By the time we stopped talking it was 9pm. I didn’t realize so much time had passed and I ended up walking down the trail in the dark. When I got back to the boardwalks I tried to use my cellphone to read a sign and dropped my phone over the railings! My phone fell on this little island in the middle of a hot springs run off. I had to get down on my stomach and squeeze between the railings to kind of hang over and grab it! I only had one shot to get it because if I knocked it over it would have been lost to the hot water. I did get it though! My phone has become a bit of a liability I think…..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb