Relaxing four days at Flaming Gorge Reservoir near Green River Wyoming!


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Our campsite with David, Red and Dottie!Our campsite with David, Red and Dottie!Our campsite with David, Red and Dottie!

We so enjoyed the walking here but Red just isn’t getting all his energy out.
June 1

We awoke this morning to the sounds of boats racing by as they were trying to get to their favorite fishing hole before others got there. Chores were on our plate for most of today.



We walked the dogs around the campground to try and wear out Red. He seems more anxious than normal and he’s still having diarrhea. David called this morning to get an appointment with the vet at our next stop. We think at this point he must have some infection as we’ve tried diet changes that have not helped him. He isn’t throwing up and continues to have a good appetite. After our walk which we all enjoyed, it was time for “spa day” for the dogs. Toenail clipping and brushing. These two pups have not had their toenails clipped that much yet so they get a little anxious. We use a dremel tool to actually sand the toenails down versus clip. I feel I have better control and far less likely to hurt the dog by cutting too much off. These two did really well and both enjoyed the brushing and the treats we gave them after the toenails.
Enjoying the cabana!Enjoying the cabana!Enjoying the cabana!

David, Red and Dottie having fun while the hamburgers cook on the grill!



We had hamburgers for dinner and enjoyed another walk before heading to bed early.



June 2

This morning was another beautiful day on the lake. Red had his first encounter with a Pronghorn Antelope. As David was taking them out this morning he found the Antelope were once again in the campground. Red was very curious about them and they were curious about him too. David was braced and ready for Red to lunge after them but he never did. Unfortunately, like all dogs, both of ours were enticed by what the antelope left behind, pooh! Why dogs like to eat that is beyond me but every dog we’ve had like the stuff from antelope,deer, rabbits etc. Keeping the dogs away from the pooh kept us on our toes!!



We’ve decided walking the guys isn’t really tiring them out, just us. We have two Terratrikes on the back of the 5th wheel and with our old dogs, Budd and Kelly, we could let them go for a run while we peddled. Obviously that was in their younger years. This was the first time either Red or Dottie have been around bikes.
Red’s first run with David!Red’s first run with David!Red’s first run with David!

One of them will be tired soon!
Our thought was Red might just need more exercise. After we got the trikes down off the rack behind the trailer, we got Red and Dottie ready to get hooked up. Obviously Dottie won’t keep up with Red and David so I’ll stay behind and go slow with her for a while. With David on the trike I got Red’s harness on, it is a pulling harness, and got him attached to the trike to ensure he stays behind the front wheel of the trike. As David started to peddle Red got the idea and was quick to trot along side David. Red was certainly ready to go faster than David, so in short order they left Dottie and I far behind.



The trike ride went well and Red certainly liked running more than the old slow walk we do! Dottie road in my lap more than she ran and seemed to enjoy the wind in her ears as I peddled fast to catch up to David and Red. I must say the rest of the evening Red was calmer even though he still is having diarrhea. Dottie was sleeping like a log the rest of the
Off they go!Off they go!Off they go!

David didn’t do much peddling as Red was pulling, at times at a full lope!
night.



June 3

This morning David had tethered Red by the front step so he could watch the boats going by while we enjoyed a second cup of coffee. The meadowlarks were sing their lovely tune. I love meadowlarks. I remember as a child walking to school and back, I would be so overjoyed just hearing them sing. I’m always brought to my childhood when I hear those birds sing. Flaming Gorge is such a beautiful place and meadowlarks are everywhere.



Red, just learning about being tethered out, quickly got himself tangled in the long leash. I went out to try to help and while I was unhooking him, Red decided he’d go inside. I was so worried he’d fall while tangled in the leash I tried to steady him and wrenched my back in the process. I have been having trouble anyway and had been going to PT for a month before we left. Now it really hurt and I wasn’t real sure I was getting back in the trailer. Red was ok but now I’m rather laid up.



Even though my back was hurting we decided to try the trikes again and Red was really ready this morning. In a flash Red and David were off. I on the other hand was glad to take it easy with Dottie. I was hoping the movement would loosen my back up. Everyone had a grand time and on our return Red decided it was nap time. This gave me time to work on the blog and David was able to download his pictures. By late afternoon Red was ready to go again. I was somewhat concerned about his diarrhea but his appetite remains good so we let him go. Dottie was not quite so eager this afternoon so she sat on my lap, once again enjoying the wind in her ears! My back was better but not great so David thought steaks on the grill would fix me up! That definitely made me feel better for sure.



So sad we are leaving tomorrow. The problem with having your trip all planned and reservations is that when your having fun somewhere you can’t stay longer. On the other hand, without reservations we wouldn’t have had a nice spot to stay in as long as we have had.



As the day ended another beautiful sunset was on full display over the snow tipped mountains to the west and I could hear the faint calls of the meadowlarks in the distance telling me goodnight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb