My favorite vacations


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm a little nervous as this is my first blog posting so sorry in advance if this is not like traditonal blogs you usually see.

One of my most recent vacations was to the Wisconsin Dells, a trip that made quite a big impression on me. Now, I had never heard of the Wisconsin Dells before going there and honestly thought this was going to be like a farm or something else like that. I even complained a little to my parents asking "why don't we go to Chicago or St. Louis?" Never in my wildest dreams would I have suspected that the Wisconsin Dells would be the Orlando of the north, which it is and much more.

In the actual city there were so many things to do. So many cool little shops and neat restaurants. One of my most memorable moments was on the Dells Duck Tour. You are pretty much riding in a truck/boat hybrid and take the nature walk without actually walking. The forest was beautiful and we were up close with some wild animals that I had never gotten close to before. When we got into the water, the sight I saw of the mountain sides was clearer than any HD TV I've ever seen and my breath was taken away. Not to mention the guide himself was very informative and quite entertaining.

The Wisconsin Dells, I found out, are famous for two things. The first thing is their fudge, which was conveniently located in every single store. The second thing they are famous for are there water parks. In fact, they call themselves the water park capital of the U.S. On the drive to the hotel, I remember asking myself why are there so many water parks? As it turned out, my own hotel had it's own water park.

You might think why would one of the northern most cities in the United States depend on water parks when half the year it is too cold to go to one? Well the genius of the Wisconsin Dells is that most of the water parks are indoors. In fact, the hotel I went to had an underground pathway between the hotel and the water park.

The one problem however is that I had an amazing time at the hotel but can't remember the name of it. I wish I could remember and when I do I will post the name of it to this Blog. Although my hotel was great, I'm pretty sure that there are other ones just as or maybe even better than the hotel I stayed at. If you read this blog and you have gone to the Wisconsin Dells, tell me what hotel you stayed at, it oyurs had its own water park, and what do you remember most from your trip there.

Thank you for reading and if you have never gone before, you don't know what you are missing.

Advertisement



22nd June 2011

Waterparks
It surprises me that so many places up north would bother having water parks but I guess I can understand why. When you don't have as much sunshine as the southern states you don't get to enjoy the water as much. You mentioned the place where you stayed had an indoor water park but you didn't actually name it. I know there are several hotels near the area where did you stay and would you recommend it?
22nd June 2011

Found the hotel I went to.
I did a little research and talked to my parents and I'm 99% sure it was the Chula Vista. And yes I absolutely recommend going there.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb