Midwest Social Forum


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Milwaukee
July 10th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings!

Have you ever felt the chains of bondage breaking? My traveling has officially has begun! I've left my home and job and friends in Ohio and have space and time in front of me to explore the world a bit. Most of my possessions went to Goodwill or other people. It was bittersweet to leave 'my' acreage, but sometimes you just have to start over. That has been quite liberating. I've never felt so free in my life.

My first stop was Milwaukee for the Midwest Social Forum (http://www.mwsocialforum.org/). I am so glad I went because it was amazing. In a nutshell the forum is a meeting of progressive movements and groups addressing issues ranging from human rights, social justice, racism, privatization of public resources, environmentalism, to media problems, political corruption, and abuse of corporate power. It was refreshing to be around and meet such intelligent and passionate people who came from all over. I learned a lot and was very inspired.

I'll be giving details on specific issues I focused on for those who are interested.

I have been traveling with my cat Mohican so he is glad to be stable here in Iowa, at least for a couple weeks.

I have decided to cut or at least delay the western U.S. leg of my travels and head directly south of the border in a couple of weeks.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb