Hollow Halloween release


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
October 31st 2006
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I walked through this city. A city of new erections and old buildings. A city of old erections and lost loves. I rode through the streets to all the old haunts. The parks, the people, the sights, all simply familiar. Memories rolled over me. Smells swept through my mind. Colored leaves fell to the ground in the arboretum. A prairie rustled in the wind. I rolled cigarettes and experienced each moment without thought. It was an ocean of the unconscious, and I was lost at sea.
I had spent the weekend reliving the past. Football and beer and costumes and friends. The constant excess wore me down. By Sunday, I was filled with dread and fear and desolation. For 2 days, I awoke each morning with shaky hands and banging headaches. I was destitute and delirious. I had overdosed on my surroundings, mistaking this shell of a body for the young boy it used to be. After glass upon glass of water, a steady diet of soft food, a few nights sleep, and a determined optimism, I began to sweep the cobwebs from my mind.
I began to breathe again. I began to think again. But every time I hit the pavement, my sea legs still wobbled on the shaky ground. Finally, late Monday night, I first regained my footing. My feet and mind were on the same page. My calves caught themselves in the rhythm of the music. A music of unity and lust and love and freedom. The baselines shook my hips and the drums stamped my feet. The guitar twirled my head, and the voice echoed my ears. I was spinning close to the speakers, a large velvet curtain hung to my left. The performers an arms length away on stage. A writhing hippie mass in all other directions. I slicked back my hair, wet with perspiration.
Then a drum beat hit me hard. My legs were swirling out of control. I was released back to Brazil; I was unaware of my current surroundings. I slid within myself without knowing it, and I continued to sweat.
I sweated out many demons during that dance. I sweated out smashed shot glasses shattered on a hardwood floor. I sweated out 2 liters of liquor snuck into the student section at 11 AM. I sweated out vicious wounds inflicted upon friends. I sweated out the fitful sleep on a concrete floor. I sweated out stolen support stickers from moving cars. I sweated out confrontations with cops. I sweated out destroyed shrubbery and slingshot rocks. I sweated out cartons of cigarettes and gallons of liquor. I sweated out depressing novels and lost days. I bathed in my own cathartic moisture and I re-entered my surroundings.
I saw rainbow bright dancing in the crowd, her flashing wand a beacon of love. I saw wholesome Wisconsin girls, blonde hair, light eyes, slightly plump and full of life. I saw the lead singer chant spiritual rhymes. I saw an old friend give me a familial nod. Then I acquiesced to the music in a moment of buttery satori. I continued to dance and sweat, until the demons were gone, and I once again filled my lungs with love. And I acquiesced to the moment of music in buttery satori.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb