West Virginia - wild&wonderful!


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

WichitaWichitaWichita

smiiile :)
...Indeed! I arrived in Morgantown yesterday, after driving over 1000 miles! But first..

Went from Kansas City to Wichita, about 200(?) miles or so outside of KC! Got to meet my best buddy in the whole wide world, Josh! Yeah - about time! I kinda occupied him from thursday - sunday, sorry about that 😊 drinking beer,hanging out, at the drive in,goofing around and stuff. See pictures - I got zhe proof :D Stayed at "Days Inn", no complaints! Smoking room, pool right outside my window, free parking, free wifi... will most def be back the next time! Didn't really get to see a whole lot of Wichita, except for the shops I blew alot of money in - so I'll do the whole tourist thing next time 😊 However, I did see Old Town, or atleast a part of it, and I think I'm in love.. Too bad I suck at taking pictures though. Josh stole my camera and took most of my pictures hehe 😊 Yeah, I'll try to be better at using the camera! I totally loved the drive in, watched "Salt" and Days&Knights? Btw, I got lost all the time around the city so Josh kept
WichitaWichitaWichita

You'll probably find this in every single hotelroom all over america...
laughing at me.. not my fault the stupid GPS didn't catch the construction work! I was just going out to pick up the laundry, next thing I knew I was on my way to Oklahoma with no cash and no gas....! I'm good at messing around to put it like that 😊 The 'small trip' probably lasted for 1 1/2 hours! Let me just tell you.. they are building and building everywhere. Not just in Wichita but EVERYWHERE! Got to see my first thunderstorm in Kansas! The whole neighbourhood blacked out, the thunder was really loud and the sky had massive lightning all over! I loved it! I was standing outside in the rain, trying to capture the lightning on my iphone.. I'll go through it later and see if it's worth uploading!

Left Wichita monday and started driving towards Morgantown,West Virginia. I think it was about 900 miles or so, duration according to Google: 17 hours. Had to go back up towards KC, then passing St.Louis and tons of places before I arrived in Indianapolis. I just say Indy, my tounge doesn't wanna pronounce the name of the city. Totally forgot about the one hour time difference, and
WichitaWichitaWichita

zhe cutsies :) going out to drink some beer!
I stopped more than calculated so I didn't arrive before midnight, or 1am in Indy. Indy downtown is pretty easy to drive though, it's devided into blocks (like in other cities), so I just went straight up until I found 48th street or something like that. Stayed at "The Indy Guesthouse", I booked a bed in the female dorm, didn't bother to pay much for just 11 hours. Basically, the guesthouse was an old private house and they've fixed it up a little bit to accomodate backpackers. It's real homey over there, maybe a bit too homey since they don't have any locks on the bedroom doors.... I met the woman running the place,she seemed real nice, one of those go green-vegan-people. I was way too tired to socialize but I met a couple of the guests before I went to bed. The next morning I woke up too early, this american woman was reading magazines in her bed, flipping each side over hard and fast, probably just to wake me up so I could keep her company. Met the woman downstairs later, all she said was "ehyeahhi" when I said goodmorning and then: "you have a car right,can you
WichitaWichitaWichita

"look, there's a 80 year old man standing in the window - naked!!"
drop me off downtown?" people are so rude.. I said yes, because I didn't know what else to say. She just stared at me with hollow eyes, said thanx, and sat down on her ass just to follow my every move. Probably so I wouldn't run away with the car heh. Dude....she was strange. And she smelled. She smelled like shit! Her breath was like smelling horse shit! I'm starting to think that she might have been homeless or something, I'm just too naive to see stuff like that. Bah..... I'll say no the next time. For real.

Anyway... went from Indianapolis to Morgantown, going through a couple of states. It's amazing to see how much the nature changes from state to state and not to mention: the accent people have! It took me a while to re-adjust to an accent and by the time I got the hang of it, I was in another place. Just straight over Missouri, they had this thick, wide tone. It should be interesting to hear people in the south, i'm guessing they will say stuff like "ya'll" and so on. I'm trying to keep up though! And the difference on the road,
On the roadOn the roadOn the road

Somewhere between Wichita and Indy, the place you can stop to rest and buy drinks before you continue! It was beautiful over there!
care to guess..? I was driving while the car was slowing down. Got a little bit frustrated and went even faster. Got really confused when it didn't speed up like it would normally do. The problem? They've actually got hills in West Virginia lol! Got so used to the flat road in Kansas that I couldn't understand why the car was slowing down... DOH stupid me! hehehe 😊

West Virginia is BEAUTIFUL, you got the whole wild nature thing going on and smaller cities. I arrived Morgantown around 7pm and I was lucky enough to be able to stay at my sisters place with her husband Ken and ny niece Hannah! They welcomed me in to their home with open arms and it didn't take me long to start talking like I've known them for years! We spent the night sitting outside, drinking a couple of beers and talking! Got my own room with a comfy bed, I slept like a rock after the 7 hour drive from Indy. I always wake up early these days (yeah 9am IS early for me..) so I got up around that time today! Liv was working until 6pm so Ken took me
On the roadOn the roadOn the road

Surprise surprise... they are everywhere! Even inside my toilet!
out for a motorcycle trip around the city! Man that was fun.. I really enjoyed the 100mph ride on the highway :P We went to this place outside the city, rock something (can't remember the name,I'll ask him later) and it was just stunning! Wild nature everywhere, stunning view and lots of trails you can follow if you wanna go hiking! Since Ken is away this weekend and Liv is at work Friday, I going to go up there again to hike, so more pictures to come! Anyways, went outside in the evening to eat steak for dinner! 8 ounce sirloin, fries and sweet potato....yummy! I really enjoyed myself and had a big smile on my face when the staff started linedancing and got all of the guests screaming "yeeeeeeee-haw!" It was the best dinner ever hehe!


I've learned a couple of things:

- "lift the nozzle" doesn't have anything to do with the car. It's the metal thing at the pump you need to lift up. DOH.......... the local dude in Indy somewhere laughed hard, not funny :S
- It's real easy sitting in your own thoughs while driving, not realizing you're passing 95mph in a 70 sone.. watch out though,the police are standing between the lanes,waiting for you to fuck up :p I didn't get stopped but I did see a lot of people getting pulled over! Also watch out for tires from trucks, they're all over the road in huge pieces..
- Frappochinos are dangerous. You are guaranteed to get addicted and probably gain a lot before you make it back home! Speaking of which, I totally understand why people over here choose to eat at mcdonalds and so on - it is so accessible and so cheap! I've eaten so much junkfood the last week.. :S
-Careful where you stop in the nighttime. I pulled over outside of Indy, I really needed to fill up the tank. It was kinda dark and shady, the dude in the car kept staring at me.. kinda nervous when I had to stand outside and finish up. I probably should have known this but I keep forgetting that america isn't the same as little Norway.
- They sure do love to play Eminem and Rihanna on the radio! 😊 I probably know "love the way you lie" song word for word by now! It's a lot of
On the roadOn the roadOn the road

random picture..I've been recording a lot from the road as well, I'll upload it later!
Christian praise-the-lord channels on the radio as well, christian rock is really not so bad :p other than that, superb light-rock music, perfect for roadtrippin'!


Well, it's 12:05am and I'm off to bed... will probably stay here atleast until sunday or over the weekend so this is morgantown,part 1! Oh..I forgot to mention that it's hot here. I look like a pig cause i'm red. Yeah....stay tuned for more 😊

Hope you're all doing fine!!!! Miss you 😊 <3 <3


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

IndyIndy
Indy

The guesthouse I spent one night in!
On the roadOn the road
On the road

you'll find one of these everywhere. I am not kidding, everywhere!
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

Ken and his bike :)
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

Oh yeah.. I could get used to this lifestyle :D
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

from the top of the park
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

check out the view!! hills hills and..hills!
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

yeah baby.... sporty!
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

creatures in the forest..
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

you can do rock climbing here!
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

my window is full of squashed bugs, about time to clean the car!
MorgantownMorgantown
Morgantown

Liv&Ken's house :) it's a pretty neighbourhood!


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb