In the air again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 17th 2015
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 47.6353, -122.302

Three thirty in the morning is way, way too early. I kept waking up because I was afraid my alarm wouldn't go off. Still, I felt reasonably well after four and a half hours of sleep. My taxi came on time, and we were to the airport in somewhere between 10 and 15 minutes. It was more expensive than the Metro but a bargain at only 12.33 leva, even though the driver seemed to have only a passing acquaintance with soap.

Sofia Airport was already very busy, with a long line for security snaking across the hall. I'd been planning to get something for breakfast while waiting to board, but virtually nothing was open yet. So I got a bottle of water and sat at the gate, which smelled faintly of poo.

Again, the flight was very bumpy and the seat belt sign was on during most of the flight. At least I had an aisle seat this time, and the cabin crew was pleasant. We were served almost immediately with a turkey-and-cheese sandwich, a heavy choice for breakfast. I was pretty hungry by that point, so it tasted rather good.

I had a long time to kill at Schiphol. The first thing I saw (after the 15-minute wait for the bathroom) was a Starbucks. Like a ray of sunshine, it was! I got a mocha and sat awhile watching travelers hustling about.

I shopped a little — bought some chocolate and the cashier gave me a stroopwafel — and just wandered around and, after a few hours, went to the gate to wait out the last hour and a half. The plane was almost completely full; the man in front of me reclined as soon as we were airborne and stayed that way till we landed. The people behind me constantly used my seat back as a support when they stood up, and the lady across the aisle had an ugly cough. All in all, a pretty typical flight for me. (Except that the girl next to me took off her shoes right away and was barefoot, and she went to the lavatory that way. Euuccch!)

John was waiting for me at SeaTac with my water bottle. It absolutely poured while we were on I-5. Welcome home, me!

I had a terrific time in Bulgaria. John asked if I would recommend this tour. I suppose it would depend on the person. There's a lot of stuff that's ugly and broken and sad, but there's also a lot of beauty and tradition and history. Plus, they make a darn good shopska salad. 😊


Advertisement



18th September 2015

Welcome home! Glad you are safe and sound. Ready to make a Shopska salad for John?
18th September 2015

Glad to hear you are home safe and sound. Will have to check out that salad on the internet.
18th September 2015

You didn't say what your first stop was when you left Sofia ??? Ditto on the euucch re the girl going into the bathroom shoeless!! What an enjoyable trip -- and read! Already looking forward to next one!
18th September 2015

I'm always much relieved and happy to know you are home!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.1kb