Day 3 - Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 14th 2011
Published: September 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is day three, and I have not managed that much sleep. The five hour flight between Honolulu and Seattle involved having my eyes closed, but being conscious. Furthermore, my seat was directly in front of the emergency exit, so it could not recline. I wasn't too happy about that.

Nonetheless I arrived into Seattle and appreciated the views. It was 6:20 in the morning. I claimed my baggage, and found myself a city map at the terminal. I asked a near bystander if he knew the way into the city, and so he directed me to the Light-Rail station.

This rail system was neat and looked well organised. Views of the suburbs washed past as I approached the city - I was pleased. It wasn't too hard to find the hostel I was staying at - the name of which was Green Tortoise. I couldn't check in until 11am, so I had to wait a few hours. I needed some rest, and definitely some sleep.

When the time came, I had a shower and went to sleep for a bit. I had a bad headache so I didn't get to do much at all today since most was spent sleeping. However, I did manage to squeeze in a bit of sightseeing before sundown, and when my headache had gone. I took a walk around the city streets and past the stadium.

Before heading back to the hostel I had some McDonald's. I was curious to know what it was like over here in America. My guess was that it would taste like plastic, or something.

I ordered two quarter pounder "sandwiches". Don't know why they aren't just called burgers. Is it a healthy-biased term? Anyway, the deal was buy one get one free. And it just so happened that a random beggar was after some food. He asked if I could buy something for him, but he was asked by the store manager to leave. I ended up giving him my other "free" burger before he left. He did say please and I didn't mind giving up one of my two burgers. If you're friendly, you'll get something from me.

And that was that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb