Welcome


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Loungin First ClassLoungin First ClassLoungin First Class

On my way back from Costa Rica in March, I got bumped up to 1st class (my first time ever)!
Welcome to my first Travel Blog! Tonight I received my Peace Corps staging kit in the mail ("staging" is the two-day orientation in the States prior to departure to the host country), and I am officially beginning my Peace Corps training on June 7, 2006! I am going to finish up my classes here, fly home to York, PA on June 2, and then drive to Philadelphia to begin staging!

But let me back up a little bit... My name is Steve, and I am a Peace Corps Masters International (PCMI) graduate student at the UW Evans School of Public Affairs in Seattle. For the last 9 months, I've been taking classes in Economics, Statistics, Management, International Affairs, and Development, working towards a Master of Public Administration (MPA) and preparing myself for the Peace Corps. I was assigned to serve in Togo (West Africa) as a Non-profit Advisor in the Small Business Development (SBD) program; that will include 3 months of training in Togo (beginning in June) and then two years of service on my own in a village or small city. After I come back to the States in September 2008 (God willing), I have one more quarter of classes before I'll finish my degree and finally enter the real (American) world. I know that all sounds confusing -- it took me over a year and I am still unsure about the whole process -- but if you are at all interested, check out the PeaceCorps home page.

So now that you are all caught up, let me just say thanks for checking me out and stay tuned for lots of stories, pictures, and crazy adventures. I will appreciate all of your feedback, but keep in mind that 2 years in a developing country by yourself can get really lonely, so the more positive the better. Of course, if you have issues with the Peace Corps, or with development work in general, don't hold back, because I won't shy away from a good debate (provided that I can get to a computer). To my friends and family and new acquaintances, this blog is designed for me to continue to share my lives with you from overseas and for you to share with me, so read, respond, spread the news, and for God's sake send me a care package once in a while.

With Love,
Steve

P.S. For whoever's interested, I'll say a little more about Togo.

First, this will be my address as of June 9, 2006:

PCT Steve Mumford
Corps de la Paix
BP 3194
Lome, Togo West Africa


If you want to send a care package (and make me very, very happy), please send only small packages less than 5 lbs, always use airmail, and don't buy insurance. This will ensure that it gets to me quickly and that I won't have to pay outrageous import duties to pick it up.

As for Togo:

Languages: French, and many local languages (one of which I will be learning)
Religions: About 1/2 Christian, 1/2 "animist" (or traditional beliefs) -- Togo is the birthplace of voodoo!
Currency: CFA Franc
Climate: Tropical and humid (it's practiaclly on the equator) with temps from 72-95 degrees year-round
Politics: Until last year, ruled by Africa's longest-serving dictator; upon his death there was some civil unrest, but his son took over in a disputed election

If you want to visit, some things to keep in mind:

  • I can't technically have visitors until the beginning of 2007 (after training and 3 months of service)
  • You will need many shots and Malaria prophylaxis (see a travel clinic)
  • You can't drink the water and I may not have reliable electricity, running water, or an indoor toilet (then again, I might have all these things)
  • The rainy season is from May - Oct. but it's not too bad
  • It might be cheaper to fly to Accra, Ghana and have me meet you there than to fly to Lome


So those are all the basics. Keep in touch!


Advertisement



15th May 2006

Few more weeks to go, before you finally go the beautiful continent where we've met. I wish you all the best in Togo!! big hug and greetings all the way from the Netherlands
3rd June 2006

Meilleurs Voeux!
Steve, I wish you all the best for your first few days/weeks/months as you get through training and to your village. Say hi to the trainers and main office staff from me if you get a chance, please. You'll do really well with everything, and I know you'll do a great job as a PCV! ~Jennifer
4th June 2006

Best of luck to you. This sounds an extraordinary adventure and I am sure you will excel in it. Although I have known you for a short period of time but you managed to leave a great impression on how amazing you are. I will keep lobbying for opportunities for you in Jordan. Stay in touch.
5th June 2006

hurrah!!!
steve...i would give anything to be in your shoes right now. you have an opportunity to experience one of the most amazing journeys in a person's lifetime. i, for one, am jealous of the uncomplicated lifestyle that you will be accustomed to while you are down there, something i've wanted and have been missing these days. i am sure that the experience will be worthwhile and triumphant for you because i know that you have the qualities that will enable you to get there, passion and great wits. anyway, i was rummaging through missionary work in the medical field while i was at work yesterday and found this somewhat sad story.....here's the link (http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/local/263742_drroot21.html). thanks to your inluence, i've been seriously considering missionary work in my profession lately....i think your blog will keep me interested good luck and may the force be with you....lol
9th June 2006

Good Luck
Good luck Steve. You have made all of proud. If I were 30 years younger I would be going along with you..to carry the water, air conditioner, video games..ha. ha. Anyhow, we will keep you in our prayers and will keep in touch with you on this truly great experience where you are making a difference. Most of us wish we would have chosen such a path. God bless and keep in toch with us. I look forward to getting educated and will keep the students at Tech informed on whatever you can provide. Randy Mumford
11th June 2006

Spelling
My wife says that when you get back you can teach me how to spell and how to write correct sentences. Anyhow, I think you got the jist of things so good luck and we will be thinking of you when we are at the beach.
18th December 2006

Hi Steve
Hello Steve, You don't know me but I found out about your blog from your mother and have been checking in occassionally ever since because of how interesting I found it to be. Your mother is such a nice person and is so obviously proud of what you are doing. I am so impressed and amazed that someone your age has such a desire to go to the furthest parts of the world, giving up all the luxuries of our everyday world, sacrificing as you are, to help and teach others. You are an inspiration and an American hero. Thank you for representing our country in such an admirable manner. I wish you the best of luck in everything that you do. I look forward to reading more about your adventures.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb