Rainy Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 29th 2002
Published: July 29th 2002
Edit Blog Post

Space NeedleSpace NeedleSpace Needle

The Seattle Space needle. Built 1962, served as a symbol to that years World Fair, now a symbol of Seattle.
A little background on this trip. One of my best friends, Dave, and his wife Carina had come down to Las Vegas for my wedding that never happened (a whole other story!). After a week and a half of partying hard with them, I decided I'd take the time and money I'd put away for the honeymoon on a little holiday, and go back to Seattle, Washington, with them. So I did. Please keep in mind, I've been stuck in a desert for 7 years by this time, the color green was but a distant memory. The following has been extracted from my personal blog.

Well then... Dave & Carina sure know how to make for an interesting first night, thats for sure. We arrived at SeaTac airport to beautiful 64 degree weather, a far cry from the 110 degree Vegas temps. We gathered our baggage and headed out to the Lincoln Towncar that was there to pick us up. About a 30 minute drive later we were in the land of the lost. Strange sights invaded my eyes, trees, nay forests I say, and a persistent mist of rain... awesome.

We drop everything off at Daves and head out to the store for some food... when carina notices these little black things on her shirt, holy crap, there’s a bunch of them! Damn, they're jumping like crazy, and they don't die when you sqish them! Argh... I've got them all over my legs and feet, they're digging in for dinner! Fleas, Ticks, or some other little parasitic #@^*&#*! We find out that since they left on vacation, the cat left some fleas behind, and without a food source, multiplied like crazy around the house! We go sit out back for a little while when we notice the back wall covered with hornets, with a huge nest near by... to add to this, on the front porch are some of the largest ants I've ever seen in my life! Welcome to Seattle!! heheh It's not all that bad... at least we got them all cleaned up so we could sleep. I guess this is what you get in a climate that things can actually live in. haha

It doesn't really bother me though, beside the persistent itch around my ankles, but all I could marvel at was how green everything was, and how nice the weather was. It was almost like being back in England. ;-) Almost...



Advertisement



16th April 2007

Where is your web site
Hi: I tried to click on your link for savage travels and all I get is advertising for other travel websites? You can write back to me at lycgirl@yahoo.com thanks, Lorraine

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb