From the Emerald City to OZ


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
January 11th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday, I'll be flying out of Seattle, arriving on Monday in Sydney (long flight + IDL crossing).

It's been a busy 2 weeks getting things ready for the trip (stateside), it will be just as - and probably busier - the 2 weeks in Sydney, getting things ready for the trip.

On this side (the US), I've assembled most of the gear, some of the food, packed all my stuff to be put in storage (while I'm away) - so, I guess I'm about ready to leave.

Things to be done in Syd, include: pick up the kayak (ordered months ago - shipped from the UK to a kayak shop in Syd.), get the rest of the food (up to 12 months worth), pack food away (to be mailed to me (poste restante) in roughly 1000 mile increments along the coast), acclimate to the weather - from winter in rainy Seattle (today is the 24th straight day of rain - tied for 3rd longest streak ever (so far)), to summertime Sydney (the pictures I saw from New Years celebrations there showed them at over 110(F) on the 1st), and a number of other things to do.

Back to packing...

Andy

Advertisement



23rd January 2006

Food
You got 12 months worth of food? Wow, I had no idea you would need that much. You should create a cool book. Do you need any food from the US?

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.1mb