Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Puget SoundPuget SoundPuget Sound

I had such a beautiful day for the cruise
Debbie and Bobby had to evacuate to get out of Hurricane Gustav’s path, so they went to Atlanta for four days. I had planned to go to Grandparents Bingo with Jacob, Ellie and Ben the following week (September 7th.) Thankfully despite that they didn’t have power they went back home on Wednesday and got their power back on Thursday. So my trip was ON.
I was leaving Seattle at 7 AM Sunday so thought I might as well make a day of it on Saturday and left Ocean Shores early. I drove around to the eastern shore of the peninsula and caught the ferry across the Puget Sound into Seattle. What a great trip. The view from the ferry of the little communities along the shores of the Sound was great and then Seattle came into view. WOW!
Seattle really is a beautiful city, there are floral arrangements everywhere and it is very, very hilly. It was my plan to find the renowned market. The ferry dropped me right in the heart of the downtown so I drove around to look for parking and locate the market. Finding the market was easy, finding parking was not! It took me a good
Puget SoundPuget SoundPuget Sound

Just one of the many little communities that are set up in the hillsides around the Sound.
half hour of circling but I eventually found a lot where I could park by the hour.
The market is set up along the very attractive water front. There are all sorts of merchandise but the market is known mostly for the fish and flowers that sell there. The one fish counter draws quite a crowd as the fish mongers are part-time comedians who entertain the crowd as they sell the days catch.
I spent a very pleasant couple of hours just milling around and taking photos before I headed off to my hotel to prepare for my early take off.
I might have enjoyed the city but the airport was a different thing. I got to the check-in desk an hour and fifteen minutes before take off, but must’ve been about ninetieth in line!! I eventually got to check in 25 minutes before take-off….then I had to get to the gate which was a good two mile walk—at least it felt that way, and a train ride! I was shattered by the time I got onto the plane. The flight to Houston was fine and the scenery from 20000’ spectacular. We were living in Medicine Hat when Mount
Harbor SealsHarbor SealsHarbor Seals

Several of the harbor bouys had seals using them as sun tanning rafts.
St. Helens erupted, some 1000 miles as the crow flies, in 1980. Dust drifted our way for two or three days covering everything—I think Wally cleaned our vehicles twice in one weekend. The flight went directly over the Mr. St. Helens crater, goodness gracious half the mountain is gone. No wonder we had dust.
I enjoyed my few days with the family but unfortunately had to come back to Seattle a day early to get out of Hurricane Ike’s way. Continental Airlines cancelled my flight through Houston so I had to go through Newark, NJ. What is a long trip from New Orleans became very long. But my thoughts and prayers were with all our friends in the Houston area. One of the real touristy attractions on Galveston Bay is, or was, Kemah; literally hundreds of people were employed in the restaurants and sidewalk stores. We have spent a couple of very pleasant days walking the boardwalk in the past. One has to wonder if they will ever redevelop.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

First ViewFirst View
First View

The ferry rounded one of the islands then the Seattle skyline came into view
SeattleSeattle
Seattle

So pretty from the water
ParkingParking
Parking

My search for parking
StreetsStreets
Streets

Climbing up the streets were a real challenge for anyone driving a stick shift vehicle.
MarketMarket
Market

Just thought this was funny!
PeppersPeppers
Peppers

All strung out, very attractive and useable -- so I was told
FruitFruit
Fruit

All the fruit and veg looked very fresh. Prices were comparable with the supermarket
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

Just $5.99/bunch
ImaginationImagination
Imagination

Just about anything you can think of was available for sale. I thought these ornaments made from the ash that came from Mr. St. Helens eruption showed a lot of imagination!
Sea FoodSea Food
Sea Food

Just look at the size of those lobster tails
Mt. St. HelensMt. St. Helens
Mt. St. Helens

The plane windows were really dirty but I think it is still possible to see what is left of Mount St. Helens
QuiltQuilt
Quilt

The way these fields are cultivated just looks like a quilt from the air


Tot: 0.499s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.3463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb