Orange Imaginations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 28th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Where is He?Where is He?Where is He?

Selecting the Soul of Pat at the Suyumatsu Pumpkin Farm of Bainbridge Island.
I see orange, wax skipping white sheets, but smearing autumn over an open season. I see orange, and it is calm, but robust, rambunctious with a knife. Orange, the color, the crayon, my little pink fingers drawing pompous lines, connecting the mind’s eye. And then eyes, the orange lids like peelings from the skin. They are triangles, upside down like the madman’s costume, its fangs, the mouth wide, swallowing a melon of flame.

I see orange as I press hard. Chunks of wax fall off in my excitement. My friends giggle around me.

Grabbing for black, I tear down the paper wrapping, greased like last night’s pizza box, and tilt the stick at an angle to shade the sockets, to darken the depths of the throat. The color is sharp, more chunks, and then soft as I work my way in, leaving a shade pliable for a fine flick of yellow—then more orange.

I breathe, pull back, examine, and then dive in again; flames in my hand, crafting its shadow.

But again, I stop.

Yes, I’m done. I hold up the creation, my abecedarian devil, and observe. My pumpkin is complete.

A
The Coming of PatrickThe Coming of PatrickThe Coming of Patrick

Back to youth, thank God. Everyone needs to carve a pumpkin at least once a year.
friend peers over my shoulder.

“He’s bald!”

“What?” I ask. Pride covers confusion.

“Where’s his hat?”

I blink, realize, recognize, and then notice. I grab for a dwindling green crayon, snapped in two like an autumn twig. I drawn on his hat, the green stem and a twisting vine wrapping around in a maze of youthfulness. My pumpkin.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

His BirthHis Birth
His Birth

Mighty Patrick Star with fire in his mouth.


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb