The last two weeks


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been super busy! Work is long and I've put many hours in, but I love what I do. ^__^

The first week out at Friday Harbor Labs was nuts--I basically arrived for the best low tides of the year, so I spent the first week working my tail off. Looking back, however, it's amazing to see how much I really got done in that time period! I did predator surveys at three different sites, set up choice experiments, and was working on lots of stuff having to do with the predators of the snails I study.

The second week was a bit more relaxed, because the tides were so bad (ie: not low lows), we couldn't go out to do field tethering and such as we had the week before; instead, we went out and did some snorkel transects at the same sites I did predator surveys at low tide, and I did more stuff around the lab. I really am impressed with how much I've gotten done.

Some of the cooler things I've seen/done:

I got to see the little octopus and the cuttlefish in lab 2. They're super cute! The way they sit on the bottom of the sea table reminds me of how cats sit, with their arms all tucked up underneath themselves, waiting with squinty eyes... ^___^ They look very solemn and contemplative.

I got to go dock jumping! I went after Cirse and I went snorkeling today; we got a whole bunch of friends to go, and the whole lot of us went jumping. Lots of fun, and very refreshing on a hot day like today (74 F/23 C) . I went by myself the other day, which was more of a 'climb down the ladder to make sure it touches the water before you jump'-jump. It was refreshing and good too, but it's more fun to go with friends.

I started the book my friend lent me, called 'Salt, A World History' by M. Kurlansky. It's fascinating! I'm only on chapter 2, but it's extremely interesting to read.

I've gotten to walk the fire trail a bunch, which always makes me happy. ^__^ Old growth forests like the ones on San Jun are really quite lovely.

Of course, getting to talk to Jon in China has been fantastic too. Once we got the phone-thing more or less figured out, it's been fantastic to be able to talk to him. He's been doing some amazing things--in Beijing, he's been to the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and is now in the X'ian provence, where today he got to see the Terra-cotta Warriors. Besides all his travel, he's been working hard at class, and quite busy studying for his finals. I'm super jealous of him, and hope that he's having a great time and taking lots of photos! I can't wait to see photos of all that he's done around China. ^____________^

Well, not too much here, just been busy. I hope all is well at home! I'll write more soon.

Love to all. <3 XOXO

Advertisement



13th July 2008

Hi Sweetie! I'm glad that Friday Harbor's going well. I wish I could go dock-jumping with you now; that would be quite refreshing, because it's about 100 degrees here in X'ian. I miss you like crazy! I can't wait to talk to you! <3 XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO
13th July 2008

Emily..........what can I say. This was just so gorgeously Emily. I miss you loads. COME BACK SOON!! We have fun creatures!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb