PCT days 1-5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Olympia
August 9th 2012
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pacific Crest Trail
Day 1The hike began from Cascade Locks, Or, on the Columbia river. Got a later than anticipated start after 1pm and entered the wild. The creeping horror of the weight of my backpack became evident wthin the first two miles. The trail, in the forest, began with a gradual incline with the occasional descent, followed by a greater ascent. Called it a day at about five miles when I came upon a camping spot. Watched the wun set over the Columbia. Just the wind in the tree and me.Day 2 Began @7:30. The forest was filled with Western Hemlock, fir, and the occasional Western Red Cedar. Much of the first couple of miles the trail was bordered on both sides by fern and underscrub. Weather was perfect, sunny high 60's at 3,500 ft. Have made two MAJOR mistakes. My backpack is way too heavy, and even more saliently, I didn't bring enough H2O. I have approx 2 Liters carrying capacity, which from what I've read, is approx 1/3 of a wise amount to carry.As such, ran out of water around 10am. The hike got progressively harder as my thirst increased. Long, gradual ascents, followed by short flat areas, followed by more ascents. As the day wore on, I began to stop every few hundred yards, fatigue and increasingly labored breathing commenced. Needed to make it to Walthum Lake, both for water, and it was the destination for day 1; so am already a day behind, having a late start and few miles gained the first day. About a mile from the lake, happened upon two kind hikers who shared their water with me. Made it to the lake, a lovely blue one ringed by fir trees. After setting up camp and removing boots and socks, saw to my chagrin an almost half-dollar size area on the medial side of my right heel that is flayed open, raw skin. Treating with Neosporin and airing out. If one was to ask me at what time did I consider quitting, the most honest answer would be day 2. In addition, my water filter/pump has stopped working.Day 3 slept til after seven. Contemplating staying at lake a full day to try and recuperate a bit. Indian Springs campground is 3 miles from here, with water. May head there in a few hours.Ended up hiking to Indian Springs campground. Only 3.5 miles, and arrived at 4pm. Rested and broke camp shortly after 8am.Day 4 yesterday was supposed to see me hiking 13 miles to 'creek', next available water source. Made good time in the morning, beautiful close up views of Mt Adams.at what turned out to be 9 miles, was out of energy, with my back screaming from the weight of the pack. With still 4 miles to go, I was depleted. There was a trail to Lost Lake two miles south. With guaranteed H2O, logically felt two miles was much more doable than four. The trail was longer than two, and precipitously descending to the lake. By the time I arrived, I was in physical agony. Strangely enough, my legs were ok, but my feet and back were shot. With regards to the sore on my right foot it remains unhealed. In fact, the last two days upon arriving at campsite and resting for a spell, when I stood up, the sore cracked open and bled.Day 5 It's with a whole combination of feelings and thoughts that I have to leave the trail. I made a deal with myself, and voiced it to others, that I would only quit were I physically unable to continue. Here are the sad facts:My right foot isn'thealing, my left (bad) foot aches, my back is shot. In addition, I don't have enough carrying capacity for water, only 2 liters. I need three times that. Finally, I can't physically make the 15 mile distances between water sources. This am am down to a day and a half of food. There is an unpaved road near the lake here that I am going to start hiking on, praying for a ride back to civilization.12:45 Monday: got a ride to Hood River. Now trying to figure out how to get back to Olympia.UPDATE:Will be returning to the trail on Saturday~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb