Final pre-trip entry


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Kelso
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This will be my last pre-trip entry. Since my last post, I've scaled back the southeastern asia portion of the journey. Have also sent in the paperwork for a 5yr India visa, hoping to have it back by next weekend. So allow me to give you the itinerary exoskeleton; as when I arrive in Bangkok, the writing will be present oriented.
I arrive in Bangkok at 11:35am on 11/03. I have since reserved and paid for a room for two nights, effectively commiting to a minimum stay in Gomorrah. As such, will spend that afternoon acclimating and meadering around. I have three specific places am planning on visiting that next day, with latitude for peripatetic improvisation. On 11/05, will take a train east out of Bangkok to Nakhon (city) Ratchisima, sit of ancient Khmer ruins that sit approx. 5,00 feet up on the summit of a (dormant) volcano. From there I'll continue east to the Cambodian border. One item on tomorrow's to-do list is apply electronically for the Cambodian visa. From there will cross the border and take a bus north to Siem Reap, the town that is adjacent to the World Heritage splendor of Angkor Wat (plan on a thousand pics, to be conservative). Am planning on five days there, returning to Bangkok, where I'll fly into Bombay, arriving at 11:30 pm. Will spend one day there, taking a ferry an hr west to an island that is a UNESCO site, to see ancient Hindu carvings, etc in a series of labyrthine caves. Will fly out that evening to Ahemedabab (65 min flt). There I will meet Dave and the folks at the Manava Sadhna ashram. On the phone today was verbalizing the various forms fear manifests as. Watching said thought processes while not reactively acting upon them is, well, part of the trip~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb