Seattle and Forks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Forks
May 25th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, my flight from Raleigh arrived on time in Seattle on Saturday the 22nd. It was a long eight hour flight but fun as well. Getting to see the earth from the air is amazing, it is so big. I love flying because seeing how big the earth is reminds me how HUGE God is. I was able to see Mount Ranier in the distance. It was the only mountain visable above the clouds on my flight from Spokane to Seattle. My brother Jesse picked me up at the airport and we went to a mall in Seattle and had drinks and appetizers at a Thai restaurant called Racha with his friends Becca and Royden from the Coast Guard. Jesse then drove me around Seattle and showed me several places including an Episcopal cathedral with a huge pipe organ. It was really cool. We left and it started to rain, typical Seattle weather. But it didnt bother me, after all I live in Cullowhee and go to WCU, short for We Carry Umbrellas. After leaving the cathedral we went to the posh side of town called Mercer Island and went to a wine bar called Cellar 46, which I recommend if ever on Mercer Island. As soon as we walked in I saw a table of people with a man that looked really familiar. I kept trying to figure out where I knew him from and concluded that he goes to the same church as me back in Winston. How bizarre is that? As our night came to an end we drove to Jesse's friends place on Mercer Island for the night. We stayed up for another hour chatting with his friend Becki then went to bed.

Sunday morning the 23rd consisted of goodbyes to Becki and John, Jesse's friends we stayed the night with. They were really cool people by the way. We drove to downtown Seattle and went to Pike Place Market. We had coffee from the original Starbucks, then wandered through the crowded market. It was a pretty sweet place, I wish we had one back in NC. But it wasn't as cool as Pike Brewing Company where we had lunch. The beer there is really good, I recommend the XXXXX Stout. Jesse started crying like baby when we boarded the ferry to ford Puget Sound to leave Seattle. This previous sentence is false, but he was a little bereaved leaving it for the last time. I got some really good pictures of Seattle from the ferry. It is definitely a city I could live in. After getting off the ferry I put Lady GaGa on from my ipod to keep us going. We had a nice drive with her to Port Angeles where we stopped to get gas and Jesse pointed out the theatre and the restaurant from Twilight. He had to say another goodbye to some friends in Port Angeles as well. The jaunt from Port Angeles to Jesse's former residence on Lake Crescent in Olympic National Forest was fun and really breathtaking. The mountains are so high and steep here, they dwarf the Appalachians. And the lake is so clear and changes colours from green to blue. I am coming back someday to hike and camp this range. We arrived in Forks around fourish. And yes I got a pic of the welcome sign for all you Twilighters. After getting to Jesse's house I met his friends who have two huge harlequin great danes and we all ate spaghetti with the Cullens and chatted then went to bed.

Monday the 24th I got up early and crossed the treaty line into werewolf country in La Push and went to the Coast Guard station Jesse works at for his last day of work. After visiting First Beach and seeing all there is to see on the awesome reservation I attended Jesse's award ceremony where he got an award. And there was much rejoicing, YAYYY!!! Following this I enjoyed my tax dollars and took my forty seven foot million dollar motor lifeboat on a short joy ride out into the Pacific. In truth I was taken out and got to drive it for probably five minutes max. But it was a very neat and experience. The coastline of La Push is spectacular with several little rock islands rising up out of the water. We left La Push and went back to Forks and took some stuff to the post office then went out to supper for Jesse's last night in Forks were I met new acquaintances and we all danced the night away.

Advertisement



26th May 2010

Cellar 46
Strange that you saw someone you knew from Winston-Salem at Cellar 46 on Mercer Island.

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb