Leaving the Great NorthWest


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route to Dhahran


Mt. Baker, WAMt. Baker, WAMt. Baker, WA

A view from my state of departure
Just four weeks ago I was in a staff meeting when my supervisor asked how I would like to spend April in Saudi Arabia. I thought she was joking.

It seems an associate in the Midwest was listening in on teleconference while I gave a presentation to a client here in the Puget Sound. After the presentation, he asked my boss if I could join his team on an extended project in Saudi.

My wife Susan and I discussed it that night-not for long. We both were very excited about the opportunity. Not being much of a traveler, I can't think of a more exotic and interesting place to visit for a few weeks.

Passport and Visa in hand, expensive plane tickets secured, practicing my pronunciation of "Naaam" (yes), "Iaa" (no), "Min faDilik" (please), and "Shukran" (thank you), I am ready to go.

Please be patient with me as I learn my way around the "Blogging World". I hope to have an update each evening, even if it is only to assure my family I am doing OK.

For now, stay tuned in!!

Bob



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

January in Washington StateJanuary in Washington State
January in Washington State

I am sure I won't be seeing this....
Seattle SkylineSeattle Skyline
Seattle Skyline

Goodby Seattle--Hello Dhahran


28th March 2009

And so it begins...
Bob, this is a great start. There are so many similarities to my surprise trip to Saudi. I hope your experiences are as good as mine were. Have a great trip!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb