At the East End of the Orchard: A Tribute to SunRay Kelley


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

The New Friend



I made a new friend this year. And now he is gone. So, I’m sitting down to smoke a little of my new friend's herb and write a tribute to him.

This summer, I had the pleasure of working with legendary designer, natural builder, electrical vehicle maker, and sculptor SunRay Kelley on the last building he ever made. I helped him at a challenging time. We had a lot of deep conversations together. And then he died. I am still in a state of shock over this, and I miss him, but not in the same way as his family and long-time friends do. It’s something different for me, but still quite potent. I miss the opportunities to learn more from this man, whose philosophy I strongly believe, and whose works I fully endorse.

Of course, I have known OF SunRay Kelley for my entire life. Four decades and counting. I remember visiting the far end of Janicki road for a preschool birthday party, and that being the first time I'd seen or been aware of those houses. Growing up we called them, “The Hippy Ranch". Everyone knew about them, and occasionally I'd go up
SunRay's Business CardSunRay's Business CardSunRay's Business Card

I tried all of them. No one answered.
there just to look at them, to admire them, to know they were there.

In 2007, when Chelly and I were engaged to be married, we visited SunRay's Shire inquiring about renting a place up there and becoming long-term residents. Ray wasn't there at the time. He was in California. I was told that his ex-wife Judy owned half of the buildings, but she wasn't around either. We spent the day up there with SunRay's nephew Bliss, a schoolmate and lifelong friend of mine. We met some residents, but nothing ever came of it. When we were married on January 1st, 2008, we moved instead to Seattle, to the University District. And that was a whole different story.

Over my dozen-or-so years of living in Seattle between 2000 and 2013, I met many people who used SunRay's land as a point of reference or a landmark. When I told people where I was from, they might ask if I'd grown up near this place, or if I knew about it. Mostly these people came from the festival-type people, the Hippies, or the Rastafari, the Reggae scene, and people who'd grown up on or around communes. One of them
Bonnie's Business CardBonnie's Business CardBonnie's Business Card

Tried these too... and didn't hear from anyone.
was an elder Rastaman, a Reggae musician originally out of New York, who'd traveled West in the 70s to play Reggae music, had played at SunRay's Shire at some point in the past, and also resided there for a season in the 90s. In January of this year, this man asked me to head up there to the Shire and ask SunRay if he had a place for him to live.


Introductions



This is one of those stories where one thing initiates another and unforeseen blessings and events are on the way. I was trying to do someone a favor, and a beautiful experience landed in my lap. With a tragedy at the end. And the new growth that always follows.

I didn't find SunRay on my first visit, but I found some residents who gave me SunRay's business card, as well as the business card of Bonnie Howard, his partner of 20 years. I called all the numbers and sent the emails, but received no answers ever. The elder found another place to live.

A few months later, the same man sent me up there again. This was March or April. This time I met Bonnie, a sharp and spunky Hippie-Mama who is an experienced natural builder herself, as well as a general contractor and project manager. She sent me off on a wild-goose chase looking for SunRay somewhere in the woods, where he was out harvesting trees.

I hadn't expected to wander in the woods that day, in the mud and the light drizzle. In fact, if I recall, I had been filming a live TV broadcast for the Skagit County Commissioners that day and I was in my clean office clothes, and shoes with white soles. They got filthy as I trekked across this vast property, following tracks in the mud along simple trails, looking for fresh tractor ruts. The funny thing is, I didn't mind it at all. I wasn't annoyed or put out in the slightest, I just laughed at my muddy shoes. It's not like I was late for some big plans or something. I was just enjoying my afternoon, out there in the woods. It reminded me of growing up in the foothills of the North Cascades, on the other side of the Skagit River from here, alongside Hansen Creek, where my parents had settled in the 70s and built their treehouse. Lost out there in SunRay's woods, I was in my native land.

I found him eventually. He wasn't out in the woods at all by then. And he wasn't out on the powerline road either, a long strip of cleared land under the power lines that runs 19 miles from the Skagit River to the North Fork of the Stillaguamish. You know where I found him? He was right back up at the house where I'd started, dragging some logs on the back of his tractor for the frame and roof of a new building he’d just begun constructing. It was to be a bathroom for gatherings and events. Maybe if I'd just stayed put, up there by the garden enjoying the views, I would have encountered him sooner. I guess a walk in the woods was what I really needed that day.

I introduced myself to Ray and he told me some things about himself. We knew a lot of people in common, going back decades through the people I'd grown up with and some of my parents' closest and longest friends. He told me about the importance of breathwork and he toured me around all the amazing buildings on his property there. If you don't know what I'm talking about, I might as well describe it here. SunRay Kelley spent the past five and a half decades creating natural buildings that are at the same time a delight to the eyes, a place of healing, a model of environmental integration, inspiring to wander amongst or inhabit, and remarkably innovative.

There's the Garden House and the Sky House, the Waterfall House, numerous little one-room mushroom houses, a treehouse with a spinning thing at the top that's something between a minaret, a turbine, and a child's bedroom mobile. There are ponds and pools and streams, waterfalls and fountains. There are gardens of beautiful flowers and abundant foods. There are Ganja plants blowing in the wind, spreading their calming aroma across the hills. There are lawns and orchards and playgrounds too. The whole land of SunRay's Shire has a real Heaven-on-Earth kind of vibe, a model for the ideal of healthy, creative, natural living we humans are created for and thrive within. It's the kind of place that keeps us alive. And there were also these incredible Gypsy Wagons that were at once works of art and feats of engineering.

Many of Ray's buildings are here on this original property. He also roamed broadly along the Pacific Coast down to Mexico and over to Hawaii, building imaginative, fantasy-world custom homes and other buildings, including the renowned Temple building at Harbin Hot Springs. SunRay's style and techniques of building have been widely admired and massively influential, but the people who have lived here on his land with him over the decades know what it's really all about.

Ray and I had a very good first meeting. I told him about my friend who was looking for a place, and he showed me a little cabin that might be available. He said he could always use more hands with the work up there. I asked if he hired people, but he said it was usually either interns or barter, or just friends helping out. That sounded pretty good to me and the wheels got turning. I'm one of those people who goes with the spirit, and the feeling of this man and this place was that I needed to spend more time up here and learn as much as I could. There's places
Wedding ArchWedding ArchWedding Arch

This was decorated beautifully for the wedding, but unfortunately I did not get a photo.
in the world that make you turn away, and there's others that draw you in, and that's different for everyone. Respect your 6th sense and follow the feeling.

I was still trying to help my friend find a place to live up there. So, I brought him up there one Sunday afternoon and we had another chance to hang out with Ray. He didn't have an answer at the time. There was a community of people up there and bringing anyone new into it would have to be a group decision. It was left open-ended for the time being.


The Bathroom



It was probably May when I saw his broken leg.

My friend, in and out of another unstable housing situation, asked me to go up and press Ray for an answer. From the moment I arrived, I could tell things were different. One of the gorgeous Gypsy Wagons had burnt down, leaving a charred skeleton of all that custom automotive work, intricate wiring, and beautiful carpentry.

I heard different stories from everyone, but somehow during the fire and the frantic attempt to put it out before it could claim more casualties (one of
The Finished BathroomThe Finished BathroomThe Finished Bathroom

The interesting roof and porch are SunRay's. The boring face and doors are mine and Bonnie's.
Ray’s shops was partially burnt as well), Ray had fallen and broken his femur. He was in a cast, walking on crutches, and using a golf cart to drive around the land.

On this visit, he told me decisively that he would not have a place for my friend to live. But by this point, I was hooked on this place and all these visionary works of art/life. I wanted to learn more from this man. I decided that even if my friend wasn't going to live here, I was going to be coming up here anyway. Seeing Ray's broken leg, and seeing that the bathroom was only part way done, I offered to come up and help with the work.

They had a Yoga retreat coming in, a wedding around the corner, and then a big Parkour retreat scheduled too. The whole summer was packed with events that would require this bathroom to be functioning. It was crunch time and Ray was working at half speed. I promised Ray and Bonnie that I would lend a hand in finishing it.

I spent the whole month of June working up there. I was fasting most of that time, so I wasn’t eating or drinking much, and I wasn’t smoking any herb. It put me into a very mellow, contemplative type of mood. In between assembling doors or ripping and nailing tongue-and-groove, I got to listen to more and more of Ray and Bonnie’s respective life stories. I also got to have some deep conversations with Ray as he laid out under the shade of the apple orchard resting his legs.

The bathroom was still incomplete when the Yoga retreat came through, but the day before the wedding we got the bathroom done, functionally, to the point where three toilets and two sinks were usable. But it wasn’t finished.

That same day, I helped Bonnie build a wedding arch. That was a special little project, an arch made of naturally curved branches, more of an alcove really, a half-dome extending around the back. The wedding guests decorated it with their own gnarled tree roots, fabrics, flowers, strings, and trinkets. It made a very beautiful backdrop for the wedding, I’m sure, though I did not attend.

After the wedding, I was back up there to do some more work on the bathroom. Ray wasn't working at
The ToynotaThe ToynotaThe Toynota

One of SunRay's colorful friends brought this car to the funeral
this point, he was just convalescing. You'd find him napping here or there in a Gypsy wagon, or out on the grass under the orchard with his head on a pillow and a mason jar full of nutritional smoothie next to him.

We finished the work on a Friday. My fast was over, and I happily smoked some herbs with Ray. We read the Bible together and shared a precious moment. It was the last time I saw him. That Sunday he died.

I heard about it a couple of days later. I didn’t know that he’d been expecting this, preparing for it. The blessing was that he got to enjoy much of the big anticipated summer event schedule on his land. He got to be there for the niece's yoga retreat, the wedding, and his son’s parkour seminar. He was with his family when he passed.


The Memories



SunRay passed on Sunday, July 16th. On that same day, I had been planning to visit SunRay's Shire to meet with his son Rafe Kelley, but the timing didn't work out. I just had a feeling that afternoon, with a carful of boys coming home from a day spent down south in Snohomish County, and a Parkour seminar scheduled to start at the Shire that afternoon, that this wasn't the right time to head up there. When I went through the roundabout at the North end of Clear Lake, where a right turn leads up the hill to SunRay's place or straight-through leads to my home, I chose home.

Since that day, I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about the things Ray showed me and told me in our short time knowing each other.

His big lesson was that we are meant to be the Gardeners in the Garden of Eden. This is how we human beings were created to live in the beginning, and this is how we must live in this time. This is the solution to all of our problems (mentally, physically, socially, emotionally), and all the problems of the planet.

He told me that the most important thing in creating landscapes like this is figuring out where to plant the water. He’d built a lot of water features, like ponds, waterfalls, streams, and fountains, and then built the trails, homes, and gardens around them. He used machines to do this, like the old boom truck that looked like he must have inherited it from his father or grandfather.

He spoke of Christ Consciousness, knowing the presence of Christ inside of us. This carries a double meaning: of our own inner divinity, and our divine responsibilities to the Earth and to each other.

He told me that he'd planted a ring of trees and spent 30 years cultivating them in order to build a treehouse inside of them. Now it was a 2-story Yoga studio, but he envisioned this treehouse being added to for decades and decades, even up to 10 stories tall.

He told me that people who live in square houses are stupid because a square house is a stupid shape, it dulls the mind, it makes you less healthy and less intelligent because you are living in a kind of sterile prison (that isn’t even sterile, but still a prison).

He said he'd realized when he was 50 years old that he had to stop being a Yoga instructor. He was a pretty good Yoga instructor, but there were a lot of them out there. His gift was his art: the buildings, the sculpture, the Gypsy Wagons.

I remember something else about SunRay. When I brought my musician friend up there to look at the cabins, Ray said that musicians are usually useless at anything else other than music. Now, I’m the kind of man who usually wears a belt and a knife, even when I’m barefoot. Ray’s emphasis on usefulness struck a chord with me. It came up again another time, when he told me they didn’t usually do money up there, just things like barter, and services-in-kind, and people who were useful at making and doing stuff. That’s why, when SunRay broke his leg, I started coming up there a couple days a week to help him build that bathroom. I have a lot of useful skills, and I value usefulness just as Ray does. I only hope that I was useful in making his last days somewhat easier and more pleasant.


The Surprise



After SunRay passed, I got a surprise. His widow, Bonnie Howard, asked me to say some words at the funeral on the theme of "Gardeners of Eden".

When I heard the news about Ray’s passing, I stopped by to comfort
A New PurposeA New PurposeA New Purpose

The wedding arch becomes a funerary arch
his widow Bonnie. We had a good heart to heart and I could see that it was good for her to process some of her thoughts and feelings verbally. On my way out the door, I offered to help her with anything she might need at this difficult time. Surprisingly, she asked me about the Bible.

Ray had surprised everyone by requesting a funeral at the Catholic Church in Sedro-Woolley (Immaculate Heart of Mary), where SunRay had been an Altar Boy, and where he had often brought his wheelchair-bound mother to celebrate mass in her older days. Bonnie needed to find some verses for SunRay’s funeral ceremony. She needed verses from the Old Testament, New Testament, and Psalms, but she didn’t really know her way around the Bible, and she didn’t want to end up with any of the boring, staid, or stifling Bible passages that she knew were in there.

She wanted to stick to the theme of “Gardeners of Eden” that Ray often spoke about. It was about our clear and present duty to each other and to the Earth. She was looking for passages from both the Old Testament and the New relating to ideas of heaven on Earth, the characterization of human beings as gods and goddesses, as children of God. It was important to her that we find the passages that command us to love our neighbors. We spoke about the grand theological narrative of the Bible: that everything God created was good, that we messed it up, that He came to show us the way and restore us to love and goodness, and now--flawed that we are--we are trying to make it good again.

Luckily for her, I know that topic well, and the Biblical basis of that line of thinking. I went home and late that night put together a list of verses connecting the threads of humanity’s intended place as gods and goddesses, gardeners of Eden, who are obligated to love one another and nurture the Earth. We didn’t use all of them, but I have collected them here in tribute to SunRay.


What I Wrote For The Occasion



I had a lot of work that day, and family responsibilities. I was busy until quite late. In the summer, we often don't get everyone into bed and the whole house shut down until 10pm. After the boys were asleep, I stayed up until one in the morning looking up Bible verses and writing something for Bonnie that I might be able to say at the funeral. I started with a title and an opening statement:



The Gardeners in the Garden of Eden

I am probably the least qualified person here to speak about SunRay Kelley. I have only known him for a few months really, we met earlier this year, but it was long enough to form a friendship and to have some very deep spiritual and philosophical conversations. Based on the connection that Ray and I made in his final days, Bonnie requested that I say some words on this occasion.

I begin with a reading from the book of Job 4:3-5

Behold, thou hast instructed many, and thou hast strengthened the weak hands.

Thy words have upholden him that was falling, and thou hast strengthened the feeble knees.

But now it is come upon thee, and thou faintest; it toucheth thee, and thou art troubled.

This speaks to SunRay’s state of mind in 2023, one that led him to heavy talk and the expression of heartfelt values. The philosophy that SunRay shared with me seemed to be one of traditional Christianity, but one that is often neglected or forgotten in these times: the idea that we human beings are meant to be the Gardeners in the Garden of Eden, the stewards of God’s perfect natural creation. He called this philosophy, “Christ Consciousness”, but others simply call it sound Christian doctrine; it is the idea that everything God created in the beginning was good, that we in our own wrongheadedness made bad out of it, and that He came Himself to redeem everything in Creation through His own Resurrection, first and foremost us humans—to return us to the Garden, and to that original Goodness. This philosophy is echoed throughout the Bible.



Then I gave her a list of verses to choose from. This is all of them, as a list, just as I gave them to her. I didn’t expect her to use all of them, but to pick as many as she needed. Reading them all together is quite powerful.



Genesis 1:31

And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good…



Genesis 2:8

And the Lord God planted a garden eastward in Eden: and there he put the man whom he had formed.



Genesis 2:15

And the Lord God took the man, and put him into the garden of Eden to dress it and to keep it.



Leviticus 19:18

Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I am the Lord.



Deuteronomy 6:5

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.



Deuteronomy 11:21

That your days may be multiplied, and the days of your children, in the land which the Lord sware unto your fathers to give them, as the days of heaven upon the earth.



Deuteronomy 14:1

Ye are the children of the Lord Your God…



Psalm 24:1

The Earth is the Lord’s, and the fulness thereof; the world, and they that dwell therein.



Psalm 82:6

I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.



Psalm 85:11

Truth shall spring out of the earth; and righteousness shall look down from heaven.



Psalm 72:14

He shall redeem their soul from Deceit and violence: and precious shall their blood be in his sight.



Psalm 139:14

I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.



Matthew 5:16

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.



Matthew 5:46

Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.



Mark 12:30-31

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all they strength: this is the first commandment.

And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.



Luke 1:68

Blessed be the Lord God of Israel; for he hath visited and redeemed his people.



John 3:16

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.



1 John 4:7

Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God.



1 John 3:1

Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the Sons of God; therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.



Galatians 5:14

For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this; Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.



Ephesians 4:4-6

There is one body, and one Spirit, even as ye are called in one hope of your calling;

One Lord, one faith, one baptism,

One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.



Colossians 3:12-13

Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering;

Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man have a quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do ye.



Not knowing if I would be able to deliver it, I wrote a closing statement. At least it would be useful to Bonnie in crafting the program for the ceremony.



This being clear from the Bible, it is also clear that all have fallen short of the glory of God. We all know that SunRay was not a saint, he was imperfect just as we are. But, he was striving for something better. Flawed as we are as human beings, we each have a responsibility to try, to make an effort to live in a better way on this Earth amongst our divine family. SunRay’s ideas, and his art—his landscapes, his buildings, gypsy wagons, and sculptures—all commented on our clear and present duty to each other and to the Earth. This is how he stepped up to this awesome responsibility.

My final verse is actually the one that SunRay and I read together the last time I saw him, two nights before he passed. When Ray heard this verse, he sat up and shouted, “That is one of the best verses in the entire Bible!”

James 1:26

If any man among you seem to be religious, and bridleth not his tongue, but deceiveth his own heart, this man’s religion is vain.

Thank you for your time. May God bless the memory of SunRay Kelley.



When I presented this to Bonnie, I got a little more clarity regarding expectations. Yes, the list of Bible verses was useful in selecting readings for all the folks who would speak at various times in the service. No, I would not be asked to give an introduction or a close, or to give such a long speech. Specifically, she wanted me to do the Old Testament reading, and it would be very brief. We sat down and got to work.


Words I Said at the Funeral



Bonnie and I wrote these words together, typing them into the Notes app on my phone. But later, I went and edited them to read a bit differently. I thought I could massage the language and make it sound better.

On the day of the funeral, my boys and I showed up at the church early to help Bonnie get things ready. We chatted with some of the folks as they arrived, surprised by how many of SunRay’s family and friends I already knew. I felt out of place though, and awkward. Who was I to be saying words at his funeral, when some of these people had known him for decades and I’d only known him for months? I slowly came to realize it was an honor, it spoke to the bond we’d made in that short time.

When my time at the dais came, I had the rewritten text in front of me. I looked out at that packed church full of SunRay's family and friends, many familiar faces and many new. I was nervous and intimidated, but I swallowed and said the words from memory, only looking down at my notes to hide my eyes somewhat and steel my nerves. I forgot my wordy rewrite and said the words as Bonnie and I had originally written them:

SunRay understood that our happiness comes when we remember to be the Gardeners of Eden.
A reading from the book of Genesis 1&2
So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.
God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good.
And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.
Now the LORD God had planted a garden in the east, in Eden; and there he put the man he had formed.
The LORD God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.
The Word of the Lord




The Legacy



We got everything wrapped up with the bathroom on a Friday, the same day that the first of the Parkour seminar staff was showing up to get things ready. After finishing our carpentry work and cleaning up the job site, Jeremy (one of the Shire residents) and I went down to hang out with Ray.

I brought my chalice along. My fast was over and this was my first chance to show them the way I use the herbs. Jeremy and I sat down in the center of Ray & Bonnie’s house, in this onion-shaped room with wild acoustics. I assembled the chalice: filling the coconut body with water, inserting the stem and chillum and cutchie stone. I put the long bamboo spout into its hole. Then I cleaned the herb carefully. This was SunRay’s own herb, an outdoor strain with an old-school feel that at this point in time I consider to be the best Ganja I’ve ever tasted.

After putting all the pieces together, I said a short prayer over the herb and used a hemp wick to burn a bowl for Jeremy and I. Then I carried it over to Ray and gave him a toke. Ray was looking pretty weak that day. He’d been to the doctor that day and was lounging in bed now. I helped prop him up on a pillow to bring the chalice pipe to his lips.

He said, “this is pretty good stuff.”

And I said, “it’s your stuff, Ray!”

He said, “it’s pretty good.”

I said, “it’s great, actually. You grow really good herb.”

Then he sat up straighter, puffed up with energy, and said, “it’s fucking awesome!”

That’s something I will always remember. He put love, and craft, and nurturing into the creation of that Ganja strain, and it is awesome. And his landscapes are awesome. His houses, with their sculpted cob walls, green roofs, and tree-trunk beams—all those dangling roots—are awesome! His Gypsy Wagons and ponds and mushroom houses are all awesome. I think it is fair, and just, to be proud of something awesome you have made, as a tool in the hands of God.

I have another habit when I smoke Ganja, of reading from the scriptures when the high is fresh. I turned this time to a random chapter and verse and read it to Jeremy. We got excited and I rushed over to read it to Bonnie, and then to read it again to Ray.

It was from James 1:26, and in the little Gideons Bible I had with me, it read like this:

“If anyone among you thinks he is religious, and does not bridle his tongue, but deceives his own heart, this one’s religion is useless.”

When Ray heard that, he got excited again. He sat up and declared enthusiastically, “That is one of the best verses in the entire Bible!”

This tells another story, and it reminds me of the things Ray was telling me when he first walked me around the property, or when we sat and talked while working on the bathroom. It means walk the talk. SunRay was not someone who wanted to make a vocal declaration of religion, and then live it hypocritically. Rather, he was someone who wanted to live his religion in complete action. A Gardener of Eden, he did this through tending his land, his gardens, groves, and orchards. He did this through his creations: his houses, his sculptures, his herb strain. And—I gather—he did this through his children, who seem to me very confident, talented, and well-adjusted people.

I got to spend some time with them at the celebration of life, up at the Shire after the funeral. There were a lot of people there, and it was quite joyous. Everyone brought food and there was more than enough. Taking Ray’s place, a few guys got bare naked and jumped into the icy pond. I caught up with old friends, many that I didn’t know had had any connection to SunRay, but it turns out they were his friends too, and relatives. We told stories and shared memories and talked about the complex emotions that accompany death.

The arch that I’d built for the wedding became a funerary arch, a memorial to Ray. Someone put a poster board of SunRay photos in the middle and other folks brought flowers, candles, and mementos to lay nearby. Given a new purpose, it was just as beautiful.

Like a seed being planted in the ground, when a person is put into the ground, that’s when their legacy truly begins. The spirit of the person that lives beyond the grave is larger and more impactful than the flesh that went into the grave. So, we are only at the beginning of witnessing SunRay’s legacy.

He lives on in the people he impacted, in the things he made, even in the things he grew. You can see some of the contents of his mind splayed out there across the landscape of fountains and fantasy-houses. He left the mark of his personality, even the mark of the hairs that dropped from his head, and shed skin cells, the blood, sweat, and tears he dropped on his land over seven decades of life there. That land contains some part of him, and so his spirit will always be found there.

Even more so, he lives on in the ideas and new creations he will inspire. His books are out there. The internet is full of pictures. His energy and point of view are alive in our memories.

After the funeral, I built a treehouse. Not a fancy one, just a simple platform I can climb up to and observe the world from. I took my chalice up there and smoked a little SunRay. Then, I gathered some ripe peaches from my trees, inspired by Ray Kelley to enjoy the spirit of natural abundance that I find all around me in my Garden of Eden.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.485s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 18; qc: 68; dbt: 0.2205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb