Point Whitehorn Marine Reserve


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Birch Bay
October 11th 2013
Published: October 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Living along the bay, although beautiful views of calm blue waters surrounds me, I always crave to hear and see crashing of waves. I never knew that on the other side of the point where I live, I could find my craving. At the end of Birch Bay State Park there is a neighborhood called Point Whitehorn, we are the South west ending of Birch Bay. Behind us on the point, there is a Marine Reserve with a short trail that leads you directly down to a rocky pebble beach. From this beach you can also see the bordering San Juan Islands at a very close distance which is also in itself breath taking. As the Straight Juan de Fuca pushes the water into border coast lands of the Puget Sound, some areas bordering against the push get the Crashing Waves effect. As we walked down the trail in almost a rain forest land, I found myself asking my husband is that really the sounds of the water hitting the beach. And it was, indeed it was..... Here is the view of this beautiful place!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb