Traffic, what Traffic?


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So we left Coburg, Oregon on Friday morning and headed towards Seattle. They told us that Friday was not a particularly good day to travel but we are not particularly smart travelers. We thought we would maybe stop for the night somewhere south of Seattle to miss traffic and then get up early on Saturday and head through Seattle and then over the border since we were told that crossing the border before noon was usually the best time. Well we flew through Tacoma without any problem so we decided that maybe we were early enough why not try to get through Seattle and stay in Bellingham, WA. What a mistake! I won't bore you with the details but let's just say that it took us 9 hours to go from Coburg to Bellingham which is 370 miles. Then I had called the "Big Rig friendly" RV park which only had 1 spot left and it was a nightmare trying to get in that place. I was moving tables and running around the sides of the RV trying to makes sure he didn't hit anything as he was so patiently trying to get our rig in this tiny space. I should have taken a picture of it but honestly by the time we got in there after the horrendous drive and then threading the needle of the RV space so to speak, we were done. It was about 8:30 so I told him I would drive us to dinner and we went to a Denny's of all places as it was all we could find close by and I had pancake, real nutritious I know, but I felt like I earned them and he had breakfast with pancakes too. We just sat there and kind of chuckled at each other and said how we weren't the smartest people around for driving on a Friday, through such a busy major city, when we are RETIRED for goodness sakes! Then we just laughed! I told him to look on the bright side, we were only 26 miles from the border so we were going to have an easy day the next day. One can only hope right? ?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb