Wes Cheney Wins the Tour de Cure!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Norfolk
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK, maybe I can't actually win the Tour de Cure, since it's not a race, but I will be riding in it next month. For the second year in a row several of my coworkers put together a team to ride in the American Diabetes Association Tour de Cure. While last year I couldn't make it since I was already planning on riding 400 kilometers the same weekend, this year they made me an offer I couldn't refuse,

"Wes, do you think you could design a team jersey? We're giving one away to each rider."

Now my drawer may be overstuffed with bike jerseys, but I'll always take another one. (Hey, I wear them so often that they're practically disposable.) But I'd never had the opportunity to actually design my own jersey, although I'd marred a few pages with ugly sketches.

So, I said, "Yes!" Sure, it's been a couple decades since my last charity ride, but what the heck. Why not?

Well, the jerseys came in this week, and they looked just as cool as I had wanted them to be. Simple. Understated. Dare I say, Elegant?

I dare.

Elegant.

But enough about me. Let me tell you about the Tour de Cure: quite a few of us will be riding the maximum distance for the day, 100 miles from Chesapeake, Virginia to Manteo, North Carolina. We're doing to to raise money to support the American Diabetes Association in their effort to prevent and cure diabetes. Diabetes affects millions of people in the U.S., including my brother, father- and me.

OK, I don't have diabetes, yet. But given that diabetes runs in my family, and given my love of sugar, I know I'm at risk. I've integrated cycling into my lifestyle over the past few years, and I'll readily admit that a good chunk of my motivation to do so has been my fear of turning into a slothful, diabetic geek with a receding hairline. (Now I'm just an active, pre-diabetic geek with a receding hairline.)

I don't usually use this forum to ask for money, but in the case I will. Please support me in my ride against diabetes. Any amount, great or small, helps in the fight against this deadly disease. I greatly appreciate your support and will keep you posted on my progress. If you want to do even more to help, please consider joining me in this great event. Our efforts will help set the pace in the fight against diabetes.

For more information on Tour de Cure and the ADA, please visit the Tour de Cure website.


Click here to visit my personal page.


Click here to view the team page for NS Thoroughbreds

Advertisement



26th March 2007

can't give a donation
Had to finish work so no money spare but my diabetes will not come under control. Good on yer it's a good cause. No body in my family has it except me. You are taking the right steps to prevent it.
26th March 2007

Wes is awesome
Wes is the most awesome jersey designer I know!
15th April 2007

My contribution
Don't worry, I won't give anything until I return your book! That is one hot jersey.
15th April 2007

Oh, Manteo
I hope that you will be in a carravan to Manteo. Sally and I just rode in 2 days on Outer Banks and I have a few stories about the roads there.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb