Virginia - Bigger Than You Might Think...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Manassas
June 28th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

June 28th, 2006

I-40 E to I-81 N to I-66 E.

FluffFluffFluff

Lots of Fluff on this one
This morning was weird - I woke up in Nashville, of course, but it took a few seconds for that to register when I first woke up. So in the meantime, I was all, "Um, *where* am I?" All good, we figured it out. And I had company for most of the night - the creature known only as "White Kitty" kept me from feeling lonely. Seriously guys, that cat needs a name before it develops serious behaviourial difficulties.

Dave and I took Winston the dog for a walk as Brooke got ready for work, then after some coffee I was off. Up through Tennessee and Virginia, which proved to be a lot bigger than I imagined! (Granted, the interstate takes pretty much the longest path imaginable through the state on the way to DC...)

It was a really humid, really hazy day, which didn't exactly do wonders for my tiredness level. Even after a night in a comfy bed, I was still really tired today. But I managed to get off the interstate and take some side routes towards the end of the day, which really made it worthwhile. The mountains off to the east were incredible, especially
FlagFlagFlag

Morning in Nashville, TN
with the haze that would sometimes envelop them. As I started heading east it was well after dark, and I was aiming to camp at Sky Meadows State Park, but after I got there I realized they close at dusk and had no camping sites, anyhow. Forlorn, I found a rest area just outside of the DC limits and squeezed in a few hours of sleep.

I had a lot of time to think today, and my emotions ranged from despondent (for no apparent reason) to ecstatic. Amazing what the combination of tiredness and adventure will do to a man.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

VAVA
VA

Looking East in Virginia towards the mountains
WinstonWinston
Winston

Dave and Winston
Me&WinstonMe&Winston
Me&Winston

Hanging with Winston
WhiteWhite
White

"White Kitty"


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb