We make it home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Harrisonburg
March 30th 2019
Published: April 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Well, of course, everything was very well organized for our departure from the hotel (6 a.m.) and delivery to the airport. The line to check our luggage was a good half-hour (but nothing compared to the Passport line at Dulles). Passport check was quick and easy as was Security until they caught Susan's arsenal on the x-ray. This bag of knitting equipment has been on any number of domestic and international flight (it had to get to Panama somehow) but these agents were extra careful. I think the woman was trying to tell me that I could go and talk to someone at the customer service desk (and maybe they would have found a way to get the items home) but I didn't want to risk another 30+ minute wait. So, they kept it all. Nothing irreplaceable. I would have drawn the line if she had started to slide the needles out of the project!

At any rate, we got to the gate. For some reason, we had to go through security again at the gate. Not just us but everyone booked on the plane--shoes, xrays, etc. Interestingly, the metal detector did NOT go off at the gate detector (but it did each time at Security, as the agent and I went in and out trying to settle the issue of my crochet hooks), set off by my new knee.

There was almost a minor riot at Dulles--we were in line at Passport verification for almost an hour. At one point, there was only one gate working for Citizen passports. At 4, the new shift came on, I guess, and it picked right up. Got the shuttle back to Marriott with no problems and were on the road in no time. Picked up a Ledo's pizza in Front Royal and we were good to go. Susan slept long and hard but that was okay, as we had Sunday to wash clothes and get used to cooler weather.

I have to say, the Copa Airline flights were very pleasant--the stewards were friendly and helpful, the food was good (yes, really) and the wine was free. Video monitors at each seat, which seemed more comfortable than usual, helped, I'm sure.

This was a wonderful trip--I recommend it to anyone who wants to see the Canal and how it works. Panama is beautiful and friendly and, without a doubt, the pineapple is the BEST ever.

Also--I added more pictures to each of the earlier posts, if you're interested.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb