Saturday Market on Sunday


Advertisement
Published: September 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Poppies Poppies Poppies

Many modest homes have great splashes if garden color. I loved walking the streets and seeing what people have done with their yards
Geo: 37.6775, -77.5881

After scoring some more tea, J and I took the train downtown to walk along the canal where we spent an hour or so checking out the cool and interesting vendors at the Saturday Market (http://portlandsaturdaymarket.com). It was a great place to pick up gifts to bring home. My daughter got a hand carved wooden rack for her jewelry and I considered some whimsical boxer shorts before settling on handmade caramels. Really good! The lady who makes and sells them was partnering with a local chef to create a special evening of caramel-inspired/infused dishes. I wish I'd be around for that.

During the afternoon I had some alone time that I spent looking around some of the gardens and shops in the Mississippi Ave area. I thought hard about buying a slab/block of salt for cooking at a place called the Meadow. Cooks heat the stone in an oven or on a grill and it retains heat while imparting some flavor. It also makes for an unusual presentation. I jumped at the chance to feast on half-price sushi at the happy hour at Uchu Sushi and Fried Chicken (3940 N Mississippi Ave). Great deal! Two orders of sushi for $9-- remember, no tax!

That was about it. Back to the airport from there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Uchu sushi happy hourUchu sushi happy hour
Uchu sushi happy hour

Half price-- even on weekends
Salt block Salt block
Salt block

From the Meadow. They sold a cookbook on salt slab cooking there as well.
The MeadowThe Meadow
The Meadow

Lots of interesting flavored and smoked salts and one-off items like chocolate with bacon bits


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb